Harun Farocki. Ich habe genug! Texte 1976–1985. Schriften. Band 4

gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Discourse Vol. 13 – Harun Farocki. Ich habe genug! Texte 1976–1985. Schriften. Band 4.

Edited and with an epilogue by Volker Pantenburg.

464 pages, with illustrations, soft cover, German, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2019, ISBN 978-3-96098-226-5


Part of the edition Harun Farocki. Schriften. (edited by Marius Babias, Antje Ehmann, Tom Holert, Doreen Mende, Volker Pantenburg)

As an editor and contributor of
Filmkritik, Harun Farocki wrote more than 90 articles for the journal between 1976 and 1985 and shaped its character as a platform for polemic and partisan film thinking. Volume 4 of Farocki’s Writings contains all his contributions to Filmkritik from this period, complemented by the radio play “The Big Connecting Pipe” and assorted writing related to his teaching at “Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin” (DFFB). The volume provides insight into the context of Farocki’s films Between two Wars (1978) and Before your Eyes – Vietnam (1982) and traces Farocki’s perspective on the commodification of post 68-counterculture in West Berlin and the FRG in the 1970s. With a contextualising afterword by editor Volker Pantenburg.

Harun Farocki (1944–2014) is one of the most important and internationally influential German filmmakers. His oeuvre comprises more than 100 films and productions: experimental and documentary films; essay, short and feature films. However, his complete works go far beyond this, he has also succeeded internationally as a video and installation artist as well as being a lecturer and media theorist.

The publication is published on the occasion of the
Harun Farocki Retrospective, September 14, 2017 – January 28, 2018, initiated by Neuer Berliner Kunstverein in cooperation with Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, the Harun Farocki Institute, Harun Farocki GbR, Silent Green Kulturquartier, Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König and Savvy Contemporary as part of the Berlin Art Week, sponsored by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture.

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops, via the website of Buchhandlung Walther König, and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

Harun Farocki. Ich habe genug! Texte 1976–1985. Schriften. Band 4

gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Diskurs Band 13 – Harun Farocki. Ich habe genug! Texte 1976–1985. Schriften. Band 4.

Herausgegeben von und mit einem Nachwort von Volker Pantenburg.

464 Seiten, mit Abb., Klappenbroschur, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2019, ISBN 978-3-96098-226-5


Teil der Gesamtausgabe: Harun Farocki. Schriften (hrsg. von Marius Babias, Antje Ehmann, Tom Holert, Doreen Mende, Volker Pantenburg)

Zwischen 1976 und 1985 hat Harun Farocki als Autor und Redakteur der
Filmkritik mehr als 90 Texte für die Zeitschrift geschrieben und so deren Charakter als polemische, von Formatzwängen freie Plattform historisch-filmischen Denkens maßgeblich mitbestimmt. Band 4 der „Schriften“ veröffentlicht alle Filmkritik-Beiträge dieser Phase, ergänzt um das Hörspiel „Das große Verbindungsrohr“ und Texte aus dem Umfeld seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der DFFB. Das Buch gibt Einblick in den Kontext von Farockis Kinofilmen Zwischen zwei Kriegen (1978) und Etwas wird sichtbar (1982) und vermittelt seinen Blick auf die Kommodifizierung der linksalternativen Gegenkultur Westberlins und der BRD in den 1970er Jahren. Es enthält ein Nachwort des Herausgebers Volker Pantenburg.

Harun Farocki (1944–2014) gilt als einer der wichtigsten und international einflussreichsten deutschen Filmemacher. Sein OEuvre umfasst mehr als 100 Filme und Produktionen: Experimental- und Dokumentarfilme, Essay-, Kurz- und Spielfilme. Sein Gesamtwerk geht aber weit darüber hinaus, auch im Bereich bildende Kunst als Video- und Installationskünstler war er international erfolgreich, ebenso als Dozent und Medientheoretiker.

Die Publikation erscheint anlässlich der
Harun Farocki Retrospektive, 14. September 2017 – 28. Januar 2018, initiiert vom Neuen Berliner Kunstverein in Kooperation mit dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst, dem Harun Farocki Institut, der Harun Farocki GbR, dem Silent Green Kulturquartier, dem Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König und Savvy Contemporary im Rahmen der Berlin Art Week, gefördert von der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel, die Website der Buchhandlung Walther König oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.