Conditions of Political Choreography


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Exhibitions – Conditions of Political Choreography

Edited by Marius Babias, Sergio Edelsztein, Sophie Goltz, Chen Tamir. With a greeting by Hortensia Völckers and Alexander Farenholtz, an introduction by Sergio Edelsztein and Chen Tamir, and texts by Marius Babias, Sophie Goltz, Dorothea von Hantelmann, and Moshe Zuckerman.

204 pages, with color illustrations, soft cover, German/English/Hebrew, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Berlin / Tel Aviv 2018, ISBN 13 978-3-89424-966-3


Conditions of Political Choreography was a research project and exhibition initiated by the Center for Contemporary Art (CCA) together with the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.). Internationally renowned artists working with diverse performative strategies—from the fields of visual art as well as dance, theater, and film— were commissioned to create new works in response to an imposing formal setting and also to specific social-political contexts. The works were presented in two experimental exhibitions, one in Tel Aviv, the other in Berlin, that are documented in this catalogue.

Diverse in themes and approaches, the artistic contributions — and the exhibitions’ structures themselves — that comprise
Conditions of Political Choreography raise questions about the limits of belonging, artistic disciplines and imposed constructs. Parallel to rethinking context, the project challenged artists to use an experimental framework to push against the constraints of architecture and the medium of performance. In order to more fully unpack these questions, several discursive events took place both in Tel Aviv and in Berlin. Panels and artist talks, at times leading to heated debate, were seen as integral to the project. They generated new vectors of thought, some of which are continued in this catalogue.

Beyond descriptions of each art project, two essays have been commissioned: Dorothea von Hantelmann discusses a new turn to hybrid projects, while Moshe Zuckermann looks at the collective emotional dichotomy of German-Israeli relations and the problematics of reparations to Holocaust survivors. The catalogue surveys a project whose intellectual tentacles reach far beyond one easily condensed notion.

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

Conditions of Political Choreography


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Ausstellungen – Conditions of Political Choreography

Herausgegeben von Marius Babias, Sergio Edelsztein, Sophie Goltz, Chen Tamir. Mit einem Grußwort von Horensia Völckers und Alexander Farenholtz, einer Einleitung von Sergio Edelsztein und Chen Tamir und Texten von Marius Babias, Sophie Goltz, Dorothea von Hantelmann und Moshe Zuckerman.

204 Seiten mit farb. Abb., Klappenbroschur, Deutsch/Englisch/Hebräisch, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Berlin / Tel Aviv 2018, ISBN 13 978-3-89424-966-3


Conditions of Political Choreography war ein Forschungsprojekt und eine Ausstellung, die vom Center for Contemporary Art (CCA) gemeinsam mit dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) initiiert wurde. International anerkannte, mit unterschiedlichen performativen Strategien arbeitende Künstler*innen aus den Bereichen bildende Kunst, Tanz, Theater und Film erhielten den Auftrag, als Reaktion auf bestimmte formale Rahmenbedingungen und spezifische sozialpolitische Fragestellungen neue Werke zu schaffen. Die Werke wurden, zunächst in Tel Aviv, dann in Berlin, in zwei experimentellen Ausstellungen präsentiert, die in der Publikation dokumentiert sind.

Die hinsichtlich der Themen und Herangehensweisen vielfältigen künstlerischen Beiträge — und die Ausstellungsarchitektur selbst —, die
Conditions of Political Choreography umfasst, werfen Fragen hinsichtlich der Grenzen von Zugehörigkeit, künstlerischen Disziplinen und aufgezwungenen Bedingungen auf. Parallel zum Überdenken von Kontexten forderte das Projekt Künstler*innen dazu heraus, einen experimentellen Rahmen zu nutzen, um gegen die Zwänge der Architektur und des Mediums der Performance vorzugehen. Podiumsdiskussionen und Künstler*innengespräche, die teilweise zu hitzigen Auseinandersetzungen führten, waren ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Projekts. Sie brachten neue Ideen hervor, von denen einige in der vorliegenden Publikation aufgegriffen und weitergedacht werden.

Neben den Beschreibungen der einzelnen künstlerischen Projekte wurden eigens zwei Essays verfasst. Dorothea von Hantelmann diskutiert die neue Hinwendung zu hybriden Projekten, während Moshe Zuckermann die kollektive emotionale Dichotomie der deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen und die Problematik der Reparationszahlungen an Holocaust-Überlebende thematisiert. Die Publikation bietet einen Überblick über ein Projekt und ein Thema, dessen intellektuelle Stränge weit über einen leicht komprimierbaren Begriff hinausreichen.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.