n.b.k. Cooperations

n.b.k.’s activities are underpinned by long-term cooperations, for instance with the publishing house Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, with the Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) or within the context of a residency program at Gartenstadt Atlantic. In dialogue with these partners, n.b.k.’s activities are further developed and anchored in joint projects. The goal of the cooperations is to reach a broad public with information about contemporary art and theory.

Walther König
Walther König is a bookstore and publishing house with stores in all major German cities. The bookstores and the distribution center make books on modern and contemporary art, photography, architecture, and art theory available worldwide. König is particularly known for its large selection of artist books, exhibition catalogues, and monographs. All of n.b.k.’s book publications are published in cooperation with Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König. The book series “n.b.k. Exhibitions” presents artists and their works. “n.b.k. Discourse” presents current approaches in theory and practice of art, as well as in outreach and teaching. The series “n.b.k. Berlin” gives insights into the Berlin art scene—the authors write about the Berlin mythos, voicing their opinion.

Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB)
The art-lending libraries of Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) and Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) pursue an extensive cooperation. The aim is a long-term collaboration in order to pool the competences of both institutions efficiently, effectively and programmatically in a contemporary and forward-looking cultural work. Since January 2016, workshops have been held, in which both institutions develop their collaboration. At the same time ZLB and n.b.k. have been realizing joint acquisition meetings for the purchase of new works of art since August 2016. Together the two collections comprise more than 6,000 works of modern and contemporary art of the 20th and 21st century with an emphasis on Berlin. The diverse holdings of the art-lending libraries include paintings, sculptures, watercolors, collages, gouaches, drawings, prints and photographs. All works are available for borrowing to the citizens of Berlin. Borrowing at the ZLB is free of charge with a library card. At the n.b.k. Artothek a small insurance fee is charged. Both art-lending libraries record a total of 20,000 items borrowed per year.

Representation in Brussels
For several years, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein has been cooperating with the representation of the State of Berlin to the EU in Brussels by showing works from the Artothek there. In cooperation with the federal state representation, exhibitions on the topics of identity, borders, flight and expulsion (2016) and on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the First World War (2017/2018) were realized; an exhibition on the subject of Europe is planned for 2019. Current political topics and trends are negotiated on the basis of contemporary artistic positions. Selected works from the n.b.k. Artothek have been repeatedly presented in the premises of the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe and the Komische Oper Berlin. In 2017/2018, at the invitation of the Governing Mayor of Berlin Michael Müller and on the occasion of his presidency of the Bundesrat, n.b.k. presents a series of photographic works from the collection of the Artothek at the Lichthof West of the German Bundesrat (Federal Council). Each exhibition context offers the special opportunity to make the shown works from the collection of the n.b.k. Artothek accessible in a new way.

Gartenstadt Atlantic
Gartenstadt Atlantic, restored according to the original plans by the architect Rudolf Fränkel, is located near Gesundbrunnen in Berlin-Mitte. The idea of the garden development can be traced back to the Englishman Ebenezer Howard, who associated with it not just a life close to nature. At the beginning of the twentieth century, he linked utopian social ideas with the reform movement. The unity of living and working, culture and education was at the core of this project. Today, Gartenstadt Atlantic is an urban island in the middle of Berlin. Since reopening in 2005, together with the Lichtburg-Forum, it grew into a center of cultural life. In addition to fellows of the German PEN center, n.b.k.’s guests stay in a specially designed studio-apartment, where they can pursue new or ongoing projects. n.b.k. invites artists, cultural producers, filmmakers, and theorists to participate in the program.

Nordstern Video Art Center
From 2012 to 2016, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein hosted exhibitions at the Nordstern Video Art Center in the listed Nordstern tower in Gelsenkirchen. At annual intervals and on five floors, changing exhibitions of international video art were held every year, with works from the holdings of the n.b.k. Video-Forum, founded in 1971 and being the oldest and one of the largest video art collections in Germany, comprising more than 1,600 works. In addition to the exhibitions, Silke Wagner’s display system Ellen (2008) served as a presentation venue for international video practice from the early days to the present day. A total of 116 works by 115 artists as well as 20 further contributions and documentaries were shown. Designed for several years, the collaboration with the Nordstern Video Art Center in Gelsenkirchen offered the opportunity to develop new perspectives on the collection and to present works in ever new constellations and contexts as well as in a very special spatial structure, in which video art and a historical industrial monument made for a unique synergy effect.

Akademie c/o Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
After two years of regular seminars at Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin, Akademie c/o frequently held seminars at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein from 2011–2014. Akademie c/o is a joint project of the Master scheme a42.org by the Academy of Fine Arts in Nuremberg (Arno Brandlhuber, Silvan Linden), with Christian Posthofen (Walther König Bookstores, Berlin) and Anna-Catharina Gebbers (curator and author, Berlin) in cooperation with Arch+. “Spatial production in the new Berlin Republic” is discussed as a key issue. By directly referring to discourses of architectural sociology, cultural geography, design theory, urban sociology and landscape theory, concepts and perspectives of comprehension for the current urban transformation processes are being developed. Open seminars are held, leaving space for debate and dissent. Akademie c/o has over 600 enlisted participants and considers itself as a public forum for discussion.

n.b.k. Kooperationen

Die Aktivitäten des n.b.k. werden durch längerfristige Kooperationen – etwa mit dem Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, mit der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB) oder im Rahmen eines Residency-Programms in der Gartenstadt Atlantic – ergänzt. Im Dialog mit den Partner*innen werden die Aktivitäten des n.b.k. weiterentwickelt und in gemeinsamen Projekten verankert. Ziel der Kooperationen ist die Vermittlung von zeitgenössischer Kunst und Theorie an die breite Öffentlichkeit.

Walther König
Walther König ist eine Buchhandlung und ein Verlagshaus mit Filialen in allen großen deutschen Städten. In den Buchhandlungen und über den Vertrieb sind weltweit Bücher über moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst, Fotografie, Architektur und Kunsttheorie erhältlich. Bekannt ist König für seine große Auswahl an Künstler*innenbüchern, Ausstellungskatalogen und Monografien. Alle Buch-Publikationen des n.b.k. erscheinen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln. In der Buchreihe „n.b.k. Ausstellungen“ werden Künstler*innen und ihre Werke präsentiert. „n.b.k. Diskurs“ stellt aktuelle Ansätze der Theorie und Praxis der Kunst sowie der Kunstvermittlung vor. Einblicke in das Berliner Kunstleben gibt die Reihe „n.b.k. Berlin“, in der Persönlichkeiten über den Berlin-Mythos schreiben und Position beziehen.

Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin (ZLB)
Die Artotheken der Zentral- und Landesbibliothek Berlin und des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) verfolgen eine umfangreiche Kooperation mit dem Ziel, die Kompetenzen beider Institutionen effizient, effektiv und programmatisch in einer zeitgemäßen und zukunftsorientierten Kulturarbeit zu bündeln. Seit Januar 2016 finden Workshops statt, in denen die beiden Institutionen ihre Zusammenarbeit entwickeln. Ebenso führen ZLB und n.b.k. seit August 2016 gemeinsame Ankaufssitzungen zum Erwerb neuer Kunstwerke durch. Die beiden Sammlungen umfassen zusammen über 6.000 Kunstwerke moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Berlin. Der vielfältige Bestand der Artotheken beinhaltet Gemälde, Skulpturen, Aquarelle, Collagen, Gouachen, Zeichnungen, Druckgrafiken und Fotografien. Alle Werke stehen den Berliner Bürger*innen für die Ausleihe zur Verfügung. Die Ausleihe ist in der ZLB mit Bibliotheksausweis unentgeltlich. In der Artothek des n.b.k. wird eine geringe Versicherungsgebühr e rhoben. Beide Artotheken verzeichnen insgesamt 20.000 Entleihungen jährlich.

Landesvertretung Brüssel
Seit mehreren Jahren kooperiert der Neue Berliner Kunstverein mit dem Büro des Landes Berlin bei der EU in Brüssel und präsentiert vor Ort Arbeiten aus der Artothek. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Landesvertretung wurden Ausstellungen zu den Themenfeldern Identität, Grenzen, Flucht und Vertreibung (2016) sowie anlässlich des 100. Jahrestages des Ersten Weltkriegs (2017/2018) realisiert; für 2019 ist eine Ausstellung zum Thema Europa geplant. Anhand zeitgenössischer künstlerischer Positionen werden aktuelle politische Themen und Tendenzen verhandelt. Wiederholt wurden ausgewählte Werke aus der n.b.k. Artothek auch in den Räumlichkeiten der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa sowie der Komischen Oper Berlin präsentiert. 2017/2018 zeigt der n.b.k. auf Einladung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin Michael Müller und anlässlich dessen Bundesratspräsidentschaft eine Reihe fotografischer Arbeiten aus der Sammlung der Artothek im Lichthof West des Deutschen Bundesrates. Die jeweiligen Ausstellungskontexte bieten die besondere Gelegenheit, die gezeigten Arbeiten aus der Sammlung der n.b.k. Artothek neu zu erschließen.

Gartenstadt Atlantic
Am Gesundbrunnen im Berliner Stadtteil Mitte befindet sich die Gartenstadt Atlantic, die nach den Originalplänen des Architekten Rudolf Fränkel saniert wurde. Die Idee der Gartenstadt als unabhängige Stadt geht auf den Engländer Ebenezer Howard zurück, der damit nicht nur naturnahes Wohnen verband. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts verknüpfte er sozial-utopische Ideen mit der Reformbewegung. Im Vordergrund stand die Einheit von Wohnen und Arbeit, Kultur und Bildung. Heute ist die Gartenstadt Atlantic eine urbane Insel mitten in Berlin. Seit ihrer Wiedereröffnung 2005 ist sie mit dem Lichtburg-Forum zu einem Zentrum kulturellen Lebens gewachsen. Neben Stipendiat*innen des deutschen PEN-Zentrums wohnen und arbeiten Gäste des n.b.k. in einer eigens eingerichteten Atelierwohnung und können neue oder bestehende Projekte verfolgen. Der n.b.k. lädt Künstler*innen, Kulturproduzent*innen, Filmemacher*innen und Theoretiker*innen als Residency-Gäste ein.

Nordstern Videokunstzentrum
Von 2012–2016 bespielte der Neue Berliner Kunstverein das Nordstern Videokunstzentrum im denkmalgeschützten Nordsternturm in Gelsenkirchen. Auf fünf Stockwerken fanden im jährlichen Turnus Wechselausstellungen internationaler Videokunst mit Arbeiten aus den Beständen des 1971 gegründeten n.b.k. Video-Forums statt, der ältesten und einer der größten Videokunstsammlungen Deutschlands mit mehr als 1.600 Werken. Zusätzlich zu den Ausstellungen diente das Displaysystem Ellen (2008) von Silke Wagner als Präsentationsort internationaler Videopraxis von der Frühzeit bis in die Gegenwart. Insgesamt wurden 116 Werke von 115 Künstler*innen sowie 20 weitere Beiträge und Dokumentationen gezeigt. Angelegt auf mehrere Jahre, bot die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Gelsenkirchener Nordstern Videokunstzentrum die Möglichkeit, neue Sichtweisen auf die Sammlung zu entwickeln und Werke in immer neuen Konstellationen und Kontexten sowie in einem ganz besonderen räumlichen Gefüge zu präsentieren, in dem Videokunst und historisches Industriedenkmal einen einzigartigen Synergieeffekt entwickelten.

Akademie c/o Neuer Berliner Kunstverein
Nach zwei Jahren regelmäßiger Seminare in der Temporären Kunsthalle Berlin gastierte die Vortragsreihe Akademie c/o von 2011–2014 im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Akademie c/o ist ein gemeinsames Projekt des Masterprogramms a42.org der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg (Arno Brandlhuber, Silvan Linden) mit Christian Posthofen (Buchhandlung Walther König, Berlin) und Anna-Catharina Gebbers (Kuratorin und Autorin, Berlin) in Kooperation mit Arch+. Als zentrale Fragestellung wird die „Raumproduktion der Berliner Republik“ behandelt. Im direkten Rückgriff auf Diskurse der Architektursoziologie, Kulturgeografie, Designtheorie, Stadtsoziologie und Landschaftstheorie werden Begriffe und Verständnisperspektiven für die gegenwärtigen stadträumlichen Transformationsprozesse herausgearbeitet. Es werden offene Seminare durchgeführt, die Raum lassen für Diskussion und Widerspruch. Die Akademie c/o hat über 600 eingeschriebene Teilnehmer*innen und versteht sich als öffentliches Diskussionsforum.