Monday, May 4, 2020, 5 pm
Online presentation of the new acquisitions for the n.b.k. Video-Forum 2019: Screening II.

Divided into two screenings, n.b.k. presents a selection of the newly acquired video works for the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum.


Screening II.
From Monday, May 4, 5 pm, until Sunday, May 24, 2020, 11 pm

With video works by Candice Breitz, Lia Perjovschi, Tomas Schmit, Hito Steyerl

Total length: 118 min


Lia Perjovschi
The Magic of the Gesture (Laces), 1989
PAL, black/white, sound, 3:46 min

The work of Lia Perjovschi (*1961 in Sibiu / Romania, lives in Sibiu and Bucharest) encompasses performances, actions, installations, drawings, and text-based works in which the artist questions the collection, archival, and distribution of knowledge from society, art, and politics. In the mid-1980s, together with Dan Perjovschi, she founded the Contemporary Art Archive / Centre for Art Analysis (CAA/CAA), an ever-changing project which Perjovschi describes as a “context in motion”, an independent art institution, and a dynamic information center. In 1999 she also founded the interdisciplinary Knowledge Museum (KM), which still exists today.

Perjovschi’s early works focused on the physical body as an actor and store of knowledge. She intentionally chose her own apartment, the urban space, and even the university as a setting for her actions. This was also the case for the performative experiment
The Magic of the Gesture (Laces) (1989), which she produced in November 1989 in camera with 12 students from various faculties at the Bucharest Academy of Art. In this work, the artist wraps laces around the participants’ arms and legs while they sit in a circle. Each person is thereby connected to four other people and every individual movement affects the whole group. Over time and depending on the movements, the pressure caused by the bands becomes stronger: “Some try to stand up, they get caught in the network at the beginning but they undo their laces when these become unbearable. Some regretted the laces, the connections, others didn’t.” (Lia Perjovschi) The action was accompanied by the improvisations of jazz musician Decebal Badila.


Tomas Schmit
e-constellations, 2004
PAL, color, sound, 25 min (loop)

Tomas Schmit (*1943 in Wipperfürth, † 2006 in Berlin) played a major role in the radical questioning of bourgeois art and the approaches to a new aesthetic within the Fluxus movement of the 1960s and is considered one of its pioneers. In his artistic practice, during which he mainly produced drawings from 1970 onwards, he dealt with language, logic, paradox, biology, behavioral research, and perception in a humorous way, starting out from concrete everyday observations.

The interplay of words and images is of particular importance in Schmit’s work. His late work
e-constellations (2004) consists of 200 simple drawings of yellow fixed points and white connecting lines on a black background. Like a mobile, the points and lines constantly give rise to new permutations. Presented one after the other as a digital slide show, they function like a “school of seeing” and are titled by the artist with English terms in a process reminiscent of puzzle games and the interpretation of constellations. Schmit recorded the audio track to e-constellations in one take in his apartment on Linienstrasse 158 in Berlin. Intermittent street noises or scraps of conversation are audible in the background. e-constellations provided Schmit the impetus for a series of further works in which he used audio recordings and the computer as an imaging medium.


Candice Breitz
Factum Misericordia, 2009
From the series
Factum, 2010
HD video, color, sound, 51:04 min

The video and photo artist Candice Breitz (*1972 in Johannesburg, lives in Berlin) is a chronicler of the contradictions that haunt popular discourse. Her interest is directed at the dynamics involved in the formation of familiar identities, which she explores through complex video productions, often incorporating mass media images, such as photographs, video clips, and Hollywood films.

The series
Factum (2009–2010) uses long interviews to examine the relationship between identical twins and triplets and processes of identity formation in which minute differences can play a major role – as in Factum Misericordia (2009), a portrait of two women over 70 years of age. As in all Factum portraits, both subjects are dressed the same and sit alone during the shot, but each in the same room of their own choice. The visual confusion that stems from the nearly identical faces is thus continued in the setting, which cannot be ascribed to either of the siblings and so seems to both reflect and question the veracity of the life stories that are recounted. The title Factum alludes to Robert Rauschenberg’s pictures Factum I and Factum II (both 1957). Like Breitz’s twins, Rauschenberg’s works are ostensibly identical, but differ significantly in their details.

Candice Breitz is represented with another work in the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum:
LABOUR (NITUP) was created in 2019 as a co-production for the exhibition Candice Breitz. Labour in the Showroom at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein.


Hito Steyerl
Duty Free Art, 2015
HD video, color, sound, 38:16 min.

Hito Steyerl (*1966 in Munich, lives in Berlin) is one of today’s most influential artists. In times of hyper-capitalism, digital lifestyle, globalization, and increasing political crises, she reflects on our world both artistically and theoretically. In her essay films and large-scale video installations, Steyerl examines the politics of images, questions the power mechanisms inscribed in them, and addresses political conflicts, social change in our technological society, and the workings of our capitalist world.

Duty Free Art is a lecture by Hito Steyerl, which she gave in 2015 at Artists Space in New York, focusing on the economic implications of art. Free trade zones – in which speculative art investments are invisibly bought and sold, tax-free – are an important backbone of the international art business, and function similarly to civil wars. Both facilitate the redistribution of the public good into private hands, and act as a catalyst for global inequality. Steyerl also uses WikiLeaks documents to show how the Louvre in Paris, the British Museum in London, and starchitect Rem Koolhaas served the Syrian Assad regime as museum planners and gentrifiers. Steyerl describes these as the top-down organized conditions of contemporary art production. She proposes a reversal of perspective – in order to reveal from the bottom up – the forces of global economic redistribution that are hidden in art.

Hito Steyerl is represented in the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum with a number of other works:
The Empty Center (1998), November (2004), Lovely Andrea (2007), After the Crash (2009, n.b.k. co-production), In Free Fall (2010), Strike (2010), Abstract (2012), and Is the Museum a Battlefield?(2013). Neuer Berliner Kunstverein presented Steyerl’s first solo exhibition in a German institution in 2009 and hosted an exhibition of the artist’s latest works in 2019.


n.b.k. thanks all the artists for their consent in being part of this presentation.


Founded in 1971, the n.b.k. Video-Forum with more than 1.700 works of international video art is the oldest and one of the biggest collections of video art in Germany. With the help of the artists’ funding scheme by the Berlin Senate’s Department for Culture and Europe, it was once more possible for the Video-Forum to add further pieces of international video art to its collection.


Screening I. with video works by John Bock, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Eduard Constantin, Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz and Clarissa Thieme was on view from April 9 until May 3, 2020.

Montag, 4. Mai 2020, 17 Uhr
Online-Präsentation der Neuerwerbungen des n.b.k. Video-Forums 2019:
Screening II.


Aufgeteilt in zwei Screenings, präsentiert der n.b.k. eine Auswahl der Neuerwerbungen des n.b.k. Video-Forums.


Screening II.
Ab Montag, 4. Mai, 17 Uhr, bis Sonntag, 24. Mai, 23 Uhr

Mit Videoarbeiten von Candice Breitz, Lia Perjovschi, Tomas Schmit, Hito Steyerl

Gesamtlänge: 118 min


Lia Perjovschi
The Magic of the Gesture (Laces), 1989
PAL, schwarz-weiß, Ton, 3:46 min



Das Werk von Lia Perjovschi (*1961 in Sibiu / Rumänien, lebt in Sibiu und Bukarest) umspannt Performances, Aktionen, Installation, Zeichnungen und textbasierte Arbeiten, in denen sich die Künstlerin Fragen zur Sammlung, Archivierung und Distribution von Wissen aus Gesellschaft, Kunst und Politik widmet. Mitte der 1980er Jahre gründete sie gemeinsam mit Dan Perjovschi das Contemporary Art Archive / Centre for Art Analysis (CAA / CAA), ein sich ständig wandelndes Projekt, das von Perjovschi als „Kontext in Bewegung“, unabhängige Kunsteinrichtung und dynamisches Informationszentrum bezeichnet wird. 1999 rief sie zudem das bis heute bestehende interdisziplinäre Knowledge Museum (KM)
ins Leben.

In Perjovschis frühen Arbeiten stand der physische Körper als Akteur und Wissensspeicher im Zentrum. Bewusst entschied sie sich, die eigene Wohnung, den Stadtraum oder auch die Universität als Ort für ihre Aktionen zu nutzen. So auch für das performative Experiment
The Magic of the Gesture (Laces) (1989), das sie unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit im November 1989 mit 12 Studierenden verschiedener Fakultäten an der Kunstakademie von Bukarest realisierte. Die Künstlerin wickelt Bänder um die Arme und Beine der im Kreis sitzenden Teilnehmer*innen, sodass jede*r mit je vier anderen Personen verbunden ist und jede individuelle Bewegung sich auf die gesamte Gruppe auswirkt. Mit der Zeit und in Abhängigkeit von den Bewegungen wird der Druck durch die Bänder stärker: „Manche versuchen aufzustehen, anfangs verfangen sie sich im Netzwerk, aber sie entledigen sich der Bänder, als diese unerträglich werden. Manche bereuten die Verschnürungen, die Verbindungen, andere nicht.” „Some try to stand up, they get caught in the network at the beginning but they undo their laces when these become unbearable. Some regretted the laces, the connections, others didn’t.” (Lia Perjovschi) Begleitet wurde die Aktion von den Improvisationen des Jazz-Musikers Decebal Badila.


Tomas Schmit
e-constellations, 2004
PAL, Farbe, Ton, 25 min (Loop)



Tomas Schmit (*1943 in Wipperfürth, † 2006 in Berlin) hat die radikale Infragestellung der bürgerlichen Kunst und die Ansätze zu einer neuen Ästhetik innerhalb der Fluxus-Bewegung der 1960er Jahre wesentlich mitgeprägt und gilt als einer ihrer Pioniere. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis, die ab 1970 insbesondere Zeichnungen hervorbringt, beschäftigte er sich auf humorvolle Weise mit Sprache, Logik, Paradoxie, Biologie, Verhaltensforschung und Wahrnehmung. Dabei ging er von konkreten Alltagsbeobachtungen aus.

Dem Zusammenspiel von Wort und Bild kommt in Schmits Arbeiten eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Sein Spätwerk
e-constellations (2004) basiert auf 200 schlichten Zeichnungen aus gelben Fixpunkten und weißen Verbindungslinien auf schwarzem Grund. Einem Mobile gleich ergeben sich aus den Punkten und Linien ständig neue Permutationen. Als digitale Diashow hintereinander präsentiert, fungieren sie wie eine „Schule des Sehens“ und werden vom Künstler in einem Verfahren, das an Rätselspiele und das Deuten von Sternbildern erinnert, mit englischen Begriffen betitelt. Die Audiospur zu e-constellations zeichnete Schmit in einem Durchgang in seiner Berliner Wohnung in der Linienstraße 158 auf. Immer wieder hört man Straßengeräusche oder Gesprächsfetzen im Hintergrund. e-constellations bildete für Schmit den Anstoß zu einer Reihe weiterer Arbeiten, in denen er auf Audioaufnahmen und den Computer als bildgebendes Medium zurückgriff.


Candice Breitz
Factum Misericordia, 2009
Aus der Serie
Factum, 2010
HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 51:04 min



Die Video- und Fotokünstlerin Candice Breitz (*1972 in Johannesburg, lebt in Berlin) ist eine Chronistin der Widersprüchlichkeiten innerhalb populärer Diskurse. Ihr Interesse richtet sich auf die Dynamiken vertrauter Identitätsbildungen, die sie über komplexe Videoproduktionen und oftmals unter Hinzuziehung von Medienbildern wie Fotografien, Videoclips oder Hollywood-Produktionen analysiert.

Die Serie
Factum (2009–2010) thematisiert in langen Interviews das Aufwachsen eineiiger Zwillinge und Drillinge und Prozesse der Identitätsbildung, in denen kleinsten Differenzen Bedeutung zukommt – so auch in Factum Misericordia (2009), einem Porträt zweier über 70jähriger Frauen. Wie in allen Factum-Porträts sind beide gleich gekleidet und sitzen während der Aufnahme alleine, aber jeweils in demselben, gemeinsam gewählten Raum. Die optische Verwirrung um die fast identischen Gesichter setzt sich so in der Kulisse fort, die keinem der beiden Zwillinge zuzuordnen ist und dabei den Wahrheitsgehalt der in ihr berichteten Lebensgeschichten sowohl zu tragen als auch konstant infrage zu stellen scheint. Der Titel Factum spielt auf Robert Rauschenbergs Bilder Factum I und Factum II (beide 1957) an. Wie die Zwillinge bei Breitz sind Rauschenbergs Arbeiten vorgeblich identisch, unterscheiden sich im Detail jedoch deutlich.

Candice Breitz ist mit einer weiteren Arbeit in der Sammlung des n.b.k. Video-Forums vertreten:
LABOUR (NITUP) entstand 2019 als Koproduktion im Rahmen der Ausstellung Candice Breitz. Labour im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins.


Hito Steyerl
Duty Free Art, 2015
HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 38:16 min



Hito Steyerl (*1966 in München, lebt in Berlin) gehört zu den einflussreichsten Künstler*innen der Gegenwart, in Zeiten von Hyper-Kapitalismus, digitalem Lebenswandel, Globalisierung und zunehmender politischer Krisen reflektiert sie unsere Welt künstlerisch und gesellschaftstheoretisch. In ihren Essayfilmen und raumgreifenden Videoinstallationen untersucht Steyerl die Politik der Bilder, hinterfragt die ihnen eingeschriebenen Machtmechanismen, beleuchtet politische Konflikte, den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in unserer technologisierten Gesellschaft und die Funktionsweisen unserer kapitalistischen Lebenswelt.

Bei
Duty Free Art handelt es sich um eine Lecture von Hito Steyerl die sie 2015 im Artists Space, New York, hielt und die die ökonomischen Implikationen von Kunst thematisiert. Freihandelszonen, in denen spekulative Kunstgüter unsichtbar und steuerfrei gekauft und verkauft werden, sind – ebenso wie Bürgerkriege – ein wichtiges Rückgrat des internationalen Kunstgeschäfts. Beides erleichtert die Umverteilung von öffentlichem in privates Eigentum und wirkt als Katalysator für globale Ungleichheit. Darüber hinaus zeigt Steyerl anhand von WikiLeaks-Dokumenten, wie der Pariser Louvre, das Londoner British Museum und der Stararchitekt Rem Koolhaas dem syrischen Assad-Regime als Museumsplaner und Gentrifizierer dienten. Steyerl beschreibt all dies als die von oben nach unten organisierten Produktionsbedingungen zeitgenössischer Kunst und schlägt eine Umkehrung der Perspektive vor, um die in der Kunst sich verbergenden Wirkmächte der globalen ökonomischen Umverteilung von unten nach oben zu enthüllen.

Hito Steyerl ist mit einer Reihe weiterer Arbeiten in der Sammlung des n.b.k. Video-Forums vertreten:
The Empty Center (1998), November (2004), Lovely Andrea (2007), After the Crash (2009, n.b.k. Koproduktion), In Free Fall (2010), Strike (2010), Abstract (2012) und Is the Museum a Battlefield? (2013). Der Neue Berliner Kunstverein präsentierte 2009 Steyerls erste Einzelausstellung in einer deutschen Institution und widmete der Künstlerin 2019 eine Ausstellung ihrer neuesten Werke.


Wir bedanken uns bei allen Künstler*innen für die Bereitschaft, ihre Arbeiten in diesem Rahmen zu präsentieren.


Das 1971 gegründete Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins ist mit über 1.700 Werken die älteste sowie eine der größten internationalen Videokunstsammlungen in Deutschland. Auch im Jahr 2019 konnten die umfassenden Bestände erweitert und Werke der Videokunst im Rahmen der Künstler*innenförderung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Berliner Senats und aus der institutionellen Förderung des n.b.k., beides aus Mitteln der LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin erworben werden.


Screening I. mit Videoarbeiten von John Bock, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Eduard Constantin, Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz und Clarissa Thieme fand vom 9. April bis 3. Mai 2020 statt.