Thursday, April 9, 2020, 5 pm
Online presentation of the new acquisitions for the n.b.k. Video-Forum 2019:
Screening I.


Divided into two screenings, n.b.k. presents a selection of the newly acquired video works for the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum.


Screening I.
From Thursday, April 9, 2020, 5 pm, until Sunday, May 3, 2020, 11 pm

With video works by John Bock, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Eduard Constantin, Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz, Clarissa Thieme

Total length: 110 min


Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz
Labour in a Single Shot: Marseille.
Portrait of a city composed by Labour-in-a-Single-Shot films, 2018
HD video, color, sound, 36:13 min

Antje Ehmann (*1968 in Gelsenkirchen, lives in Berlin) is a curator, writer, and artist. She has addressed the history of film and urban development in numerous exhibitions, artistic projects, and publications. Until his death in 2014, Ehmann also worked together with filmmaker and author Harun Farocki, with whom she initiated the serial project
Labour in a Single Shot in 2011. Eva Stotz (*1979 in Isny, lives in Berlin) is a documentary filmmaker and director whose works include examinations of the effects of globalization. Stotz and Ehmann have continued Labour in a Single Shot since 2017. They conduct workshops around the world in which they produce videos of one to two minutes’ length, recorded in a single shot. The camera can be static, panning, or moving—the only prerequisite is that there are no cuts. Their object of investigation is work in its many and varied forms: paid or unpaid, material or immaterial, traditional or new forms of labor in the digital sector. The topic of cinematic work itself, various methods of image production, and collective work are further themes that are addressed in Labour in a Single Shot.

Marseille. Portrait of a city composed by Labour-in-a-Single-Shot films was created in 2018 during a workshop in Marseille and consists of 20 individual portraits of the following occupations: film projectionist, knife sharpener, orange vendor, bodybuilder, fish pedicurist, technician, fishmonger, hairdresser, helper for illiterate people, animal vendor, video editor, firefighter, writer, construction machine operator, butcher, tailor, clothes sorter, construction worker, musician, street sweeper.


Eduard Constantin
When Living in the West – The Neighbours, 2004–2005
SD video, color, sound, 6:36 min

Eduard Constantin (*1977 in Ploiesti, Romania, lives in Bucharest) is an artist and co-founder of the non-profit digital platform
e-cart.ro, which is dedicated to the promotion of contemporary art. Constantin’s video works and drawings are often based on seemingly casual observations and are permeated by political issues.

Living in the West – The Neighbours was created in 2004–2005 after the artist returned to his hometown of Ploiesti. The video captures a strolling view of the city from a static perspective. The balcony of Constantin’s apartment in the city district Vest (English: West) becomes a place for observing and reflecting on post-communist urban and social change taking place in the district, as well as on city live, alienation, and self-observation. At what point, the artist asks, do we accept it as socially given that our horizon is largely defined by the apartment block opposite and the daily activities of our neighbors on their balconies; or that children use supermarket and gas station parking lots as playgrounds?

Eduard Constantin is represented in the collection of the n.b.k. Video-Forum with another work (
Outside View, 2004) since 2019.


Clarissa Thieme
Today is 11th June 1993, 2018
Ultra HD video, color, sound, 12:45 min

In an interplay of fictional and documentary elements, the artist and filmmaker Clarissa Thieme (*1976 in Oldenburg, lives in Berlin) addresses the functions of memory, identity politics, and processes of translation in her work.

The work
Today is 11th June 1993 (2018) is based on a found object in the form of a video by Nedim Alikadic, which the artist discovered in the Library Hamdija-Kresevljakovic Video Archive, which collects images of the siege of Sarajevo that took place from 1992 to 1996. Infused with a sense of playfulness and dark humor, the video document presents a group of young people imagining their escape from the besieged city with the help of a time machine: “Today is the 11th of June, 1993. The war has been going for a very long time. I’ve tried everything to get out, to save myself; nothing has worked. The only thing left is to make this videotape, which I will give to my son, he to his, and so on, until a time machine is invented and someone watching this will comes and get me out of this.” The use of a synchronous translator (Grace Sungeun Kim), who translates the dialogues into English, gives the video a further level of relevance as it addresses the future anew.


Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation, 2013
HD video, color, sound, 17:47 min

Pauline Boudry and Renate Lorenz live in Berlin and have worked together since 2007. Their artistic practice manifests itself in films, performances, songs, objects, and texts. They collaborate with dancers, choreographers, and visual artists with whom they share a long history of dealing with conditions of performance and violent hierarchies of bodies, but also of companionship, glamour, and resistance.

In the video work
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation (2013), six performers play the eponymous score from 1970 by the US avant-garde composer and sound artist Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016). Oliveros developed the piece after reading the radically feminist SCUM Manifesto (1967) by Valerie Solanas, who later became famous as the woman who shot Andy Warhol. The composition challenges the performers, Rachel Aggs, Peaches, Catriona Shaw, Verity Susman, Ginger Brooks Takahashi, and William Wheeler, to choose five pitches each and to play very long tones, either modulated or unmodulated. In the middle section of the piece the performers are invited to imitate each other’s pitches and modulations, whereas they interact not only with each other and their instruments, but also with the iconic GDR architecture of the Funkhaus Berlin from 1951.

The piece
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation aims to avoid the hierarchies between musicians. Its instructions are designed to create a “continuous circulation of power” (Oliveros) between listening and sounding. The cues in the piece are given collectively through light: a red section is followed by a yellow section and then a blue section, and two further cues are given by strobe light.

The exhibition
Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz. The Right to Have Rights opened at the n.b.k. Showroom on March 6, 2020 with the artists’ latest video installation that can be viewed online here.


John Bock
In Schmerzen heimeln, 2019
Full HD video, color, sound, 37:30 min

In his works, John Bock (*1965 in Gribbohm, lives in Berlin) brings together live actions, drawings, sculptures, installations, film sets, and film projections to create a Gesamtkunstwerk. His spatial arrangements, which are characterized by material combinations, can become a place for live actions, which the artist calls “lectures”. His work is built on a darkly tinted humor, which expresses itself not least on a linguistic level by means of neologisms, repetitions, onomatopoeia, and surprising language combinations. His movies and environments draw on expressionist film as well as western, horror or thriller movies. Even though his films and live actions elude clear interpretations, there is an obvious desire behind Bock’s oeuvre to constantly expand the concept of art. His main concern is the dissolution of boundaries in art, whether as to the abolition of genre boundaries and of static work concepts or as to the relationship between recipient and artist.

The video
In Schmerzen heimeln deliberately dispenses with the element of language as it introduces viewers to the gloomy atmosphere of the so-called “Leibraum”. The walls of the room are lined with metal plates. Mounted at head level is a horizontal grating that holds worn agricultural machinery and a dripping body. An agate snail crawls along chessboard figures crafted from toast bread. The eerie soundscape, with crackling, scraping, and hissing noises, along with the cool tones of an undulating, wandering light, create a gripping atmosphere. In the video, the artist appears together with the actor Frank Seppeler and invites viewers into the milieu of the scarily absurd and oppressive.


n.b.k. thanks all the artists for their consent in being part of this presentation.


Founded in 1971, the n.b.k. Video-Forum with more than 1.700 works of international video art is the oldest and one of the biggest collections of video art in Germany. With the help of the artists’ funding scheme by the Berlin Senate’s Department for Culture and Europe, it was once more possible for the Video-Forum to add further pieces of international video art to its collection.


Screening II.
Online here from Monday, May 4 till Sunday, May 24, 2020.

With video works by Candice Breitz, Lia Perjovschi, Tomas Schmit, Hito Steyerl

Total length: 118 min

Donnerstag, 9. April 2020, 17 Uhr
Online-Präsentation der Neuerwerbungen des n.b.k. Video-Forums 2019: Screening I.

Aufgeteilt in zwei Screenings, präsentiert der n.b.k. eine Auswahl der Neuerwerbungen des n.b.k. Video-Forums.


Screening I.
Donnerstag, 9. April, 2020, 17 Uhr, bis Sonntag, 3. Mai, 2020, 23 Uhr

Mit Videoarbeiten von John Bock, Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz, Eduard Constantin, Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz, Clarissa Thieme

Gesamtlänge: 110 min


Antje Ehmann / Eva Stotz
Labour in a Single Shot: Marseille.
Portrait of a city composed by Labour-in-a-Single-Shot films,
2018
HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 36:13 min

Antje Ehmann (*1968 in Gelsenkirchen, lebt in Berlin) ist Kuratorin, Autorin und Künstlerin. Sie realisierte zahlreiche Ausstellungen, künstlerische Projekte und Publikationen zur Geschichte des Films und zur Stadtentwicklung. Bis zu seinem Tode im Jahr 2014 arbeitete Ehmann auch gemeinsam mit dem Filmemacher und Autoren Harun Farocki, mit dem sie 2011 das seriell angelegte Projekt
Labour in a Single Shot (Deutsch: Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit) initiierte. Eva Stotz (*1979 in Isny, lebt in Berlin) ist eine Dokumentarfilmerin und Regisseurin, die in ihren Arbeiten u. a. Fragen nach den Auswirkungen der Globalisierung stellt. Seit 2017 führen Stotz und Ehmann Labour in a Single Shot gemeinsam weiter. Basierend auf weltweit durchgeführten Workshops, werden Videos von ein bis zwei Minuten Länge produziert, die in einer einzigen Einstellung aufgenommen sind. Die Kamera kann statisch sein, schwenken oder eine Fahrt machen – nur Schnitte sind nicht vorgesehen. Der Untersuchungsgegenstand ist das Thema „Arbeit“ in seinen vielfältigen Ausprägungen: bezahlte oder unbezahlte, materielle oder immaterielle, traditionsreiche oder die gänzlich neuen Arbeitsformen im digitalen Bereich. Auch das Thema der filmischen Arbeit an sich, der Arbeit verschiedener Bildproduktionen und der Aspekt der kollektiven Arbeit wird in Labour in a Single Shot immer wieder aufgenommen.

Labour in a Single Shot: Marseille. Portrait of a city composed by Labour-in-a-Single-Shot films, entstand 2018 im Rahmen eines Workshops in Marseille und setzt sich aus 20 Einzelportraits folgender Arbeiten zusammen: Filmvorführer, Messerschleifer, Orangenverkäufer, Bodybuilderin, Fisch-Fußpfleger*in, Techniker, Fischverkäufer, Friseur, Helferin für Analphabet*innen, Tierverkäufer, Videoeditor, Feuerwehrleute, Schriftstellerin, Baumaschinenfahrer, Fleischverkäuferin, Schneider, Kleidersortiererin, Bauarbeitet, Musiker, Straßenfeger.


Eduard Constantin
When Living in the West – The Neighbours, 2004–2005
SD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 6:36 min

Eduard Constantin (*1977 in Ploiesti, Rumänien, lebt in Bukarest) ist Künstler sowie Mitbegründer der gemeinnützigen digitalen Plattform
e-cart.ro zur Förderung zeitgenössischer Kunst. Constantins Videoarbeiten und Zeichnungen speisen sich häufig aus scheinbar beiläufigen Beobachtungen und sind von politischen Fragestellungen durchzogen.

Living in the West – The Neigbhours entstand 2004–2005 nach der Rückkehr des Künstlers in seine Heimatstadt Ploiesti. Die Videoarbeit erfasst den flanierenden Blick aus statischer Perspektive. Der Balkon seiner Wohnung im Stadtteil „Vest“ (Deutsch: „im Westen“) wird hier zum zentralen Ort der Betrachtung und Reflektion der städtebaulichen und sozialen Veränderungen des Viertels im Postkommunismus, ebenso wie über Urbanität, Entfremdung und Selbstbeobachtung. Ab wann, so fragt der Künstler, akzeptieren wir es als sozial gegeben, dass sich unser Horizont maßgeblich durch den gegenüberliegenden Wohnblock und das Treiben der Nachbarn auf ihren Balkonen definiert oder dass Kinder Supermarkt- und Tankstellenparkplätze als Spielplätze nutzen?

Eduard Constantin ist mit einer weiteren Arbeit (
Outside View, 2004) seit 2019 in der Sammlung des n.b.k. Video-Forums vertreten.


Clarissa Thieme
Today is 11th June 1993, 2018
Ultra HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 12:45 min

In einem Zusammenspiel aus fiktionalen und dokumentarischen Elementen setzt sich die Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Clarissa Thieme (*1976 in Oldenburg, lebt in Berlin) in ihren Arbeiten mit Prozessen der Erinnerung, Identitätspolitik und Übersetzungsstrategien auseinander.

Die Arbeit
Today is 11th June 1993 (2018) basiert auf einem Fundstück in Form eines Videos von Nedim Alikadic, das die Künstlerin im Hamdija-Kresevljakovic-Videoarchiv fand, das Bilder der Belagerung Sarajevos von 1992 bis 1996 sammelt. Zu sehen ist das spielerische und zugleich von schwarzem Humor geprägte Video-Dokument einer Gruppe junger Leute, die sich die Flucht aus der belagerten Stadt mit Hilfe einer Zeitmaschine vorstellt: „Heute ist der 11. Juni 1993. Der Krieg geht schon sehr lang. Ich habe alles versucht, um zu fliehen, mich zu retten, aber nichts hat funktioniert. Die einzige Sache, die mir bleibt, ist dieses Video zu machen, das ich meinem Sohn geben werde, und er seinem, und so weiter, bis eine Zeitmaschine erfunden wird und derjenige, der dies sieht, kommt um mich hier rauszuholen.“ Durch den Einsatz einer Synchron-Sprecherin (Grace Sungeun Kim), die die Dialoge ins Englische überträgt, erhält das Video auch auf einer äußeren Ebene eine Aktualisierung in die Zukunft.


Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation, 2013
HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 17:47 min

Pauline Boudry und Renate Lorenz leben und arbeiten seit 2007 zusammen in Berlin. Ihre künstlerische Praxis manifestiert sich in Filmen, Performances, Songs, Objekten und Texten. Sie arbeiten mit Tänzer*innen, Choreograph*innen und Künstler*innen zusammen, mit denen sie eine lange Geschichte der Auseinandersetzung mit den Bedingungen von Performance und der gewalttätigen Zurichtung von Körpern, aber auch von Gemeinschaft, Glamour und Widerstand verbindet.

In der Videoarbeit
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation (2013) spielen sechs Interpret*innen die gleichnamige Partitur der US-amerikanischen Avantgarde-Komponistin und Klangkünstlerin Pauline Oliveros (1932–2016) von 1970. Oliveros entwickelte das Stück basierend auf der Lektüre des radikal feministischen SCUM Manifesto (1967) von Valerie Solanas, die später als Schützin von Andy Warhol Berühmtheit erlangte. Die Komposition fordert die Interpret*innen auf, jeweils fünf Tonhöhen zu wählen und sehr lange Töne zu spielen, moduliert oder nicht moduliert. Im mittleren Teil des Stücks werden die Performer*innen, Rachel Aggs, Peaches, Catriona Shaw, Verity Susman, Ginger Brooks Takahashi und William Wheeler, eingeladen, die Tonlagen und Modulationen der anderen zu imitieren und interagieren nicht nur miteinander und ihren Instrumenten, sondern auch mit der ikonischen DDR-Architektur des Funkhaus Berlin von 1951.

Das Stück
To Valerie Solanas and Marilyn Monroe in Recognition of their Desperation zielt auf die Vermeidung der Hierarchien zwischen Musiker*innen und gestaltet seine Anweisungen so, dass eine „ständige Zirkulation der Macht“ (Oliveros) zwischen Zuhören und Spielen entsteht. Die Einsätze im Stück werden kollektiv durch das Licht gegeben – auf einen roten Abschnitt folgt ein gelber und ein blauer Abschnitt, zwei weitere Einsätze werden durch Stroboskoplicht angezeigt.

Im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins wurde am 6. März 2020 die Ausstellung
Pauline Boudry / Renate Lorenz. The Right to Have Rights mit der neuesten Videoinstallation der Künstlerinnen eröffnet, die man hier online sehen kann.


John Bock
In Schmerzen heimeln, 2019
Full HD-Video, Farbe, Ton, 37:30 min

John Bock (*1965 in Gribbohm, lebt in Berlin) verbindet in seinen Arbeiten Live-Aktionen, Zeichnungen, Skulpturen, Installationen, Filmsets und Filmprojektionen zu einem Gesamtkunstwerk. Seine Raumanordnungen, die von Materialkombinationen geprägt sind, können zum Ort für performative Aktionen werden, die der Künstler als „Vorträge“ oder „Lectures“ bezeichnet. Sein Werk stützt sich auf einen dunkel gefärbten Humor, der sich nicht zuletzt auf sprachlicher Ebene durch Wortschöpfungen, Repetitionen, Lautmalerei und überraschende Sprachkombinationen ausdrückt. Seine Filme und Environments nehmen Anleihen beim expressionistischen Film ebenso wie bei Western, Horrorfilmen oder Thrillern. Wenngleich seine Filme und Live-Aktionen sich einer eindeutigen Interpretation entziehen, steht hinter Bocks Werk ein deutlicher Wille zur stetigen Erweiterung des Kunstbegriffs. Sein Hauptanliegen besteht in der Entgrenzung der Kunst, sei es in Bezug auf die Aufhebung von Gattungsgrenzen und von statischen Werkbegriffen oder im Hinblick auf das Verhältnis von Rezipient*in und Künstler*in.

Das Video
In Schmerzen heimeln (2019) verzichtet bewusst auf das Element der Sprache und führt in die düstere Atmosphäre des sogenannten „Leibraums“ ein. Die Wände des Raums sind mit Metallplatten ausgeschlagen, auf Kopfhöhe ist eine Gitterrostebene eingezogen, auf der abgenutzte Landmaschinen und ein tropfender Körper bereitstehen. Eine Achatschnecke schmiegt sich über die Toastbrotfiguren eines Schachbretts. Die unheimliche Geräuschkulisse, das Knistern, Schaben und Rauschen sowie das kühle Wabern des umherschweifenden Lichts, erschaffen ein ergreifendes Gesamtraumgefüge. Im Video erscheint der Künstler zusammen mit dem Schauspieler Frank Seppeler und lädt Betrachter*innen in das Milieu des schaurig Absurden und Beklemmenden ein.




Wir bedanken uns bei allen Künstler*innen für die Bereitschaft, ihre Arbeiten in diesem Rahmen zu präsentieren.


Das 1971 gegründete Video-Forum des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins ist mit über 1.700 Werken die älteste sowie eine der größten internationalen Videokunstsammlungen in Deutschland. Auch im Jahr 2019 konnten die umfassenden Bestände erweitert und Werke der Videokunst im Rahmen der Künstler*innenförderung der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa des Berliner Senats und aus der institutionellen Förderung des n.b.k., beides aus Mitteln der LOTTO-Stiftung erworben werden.



Screening II.
Hier online ab Montag, 4. Mai bis Sonntag, 24. Mai, 2020.


Mit Werken von Candice Breitz, Lia Perjovschi, Tomas Schmit, Hito Steyerl

Gesamtlänge: 118 min