Friday, July 22, 2022, 5 pm
Singolarità, moltitudini: per una politica partecipata del comune (Singularities, multitudes: for a participatory politics of the common)

Online lecture by Toni Negri (philosopher and political scientist, Paris)
In Italian with English subtitles




The word “common” is used to characterise the non-proprietary regime of natural resources, the state of social cooperation, the human ability to work together, and the way in which singular subjects, occasionally, manage to invent a new subjectivity: composite, multitudinal, coherent, and capable of giving itself unprecedented institutions. The large meso-political context of this new general economy – which links together singularities, multitudinal composition and production of the common – is the idea that politics, today, cannot ignore the environment. The environment, understood not simply as the space that is conquered by an ever expanding biopolitics, but on the contrary as the realm of possible resistance, is a living environment, the space-time where existences are inscribed, and practices and experimentations are given, precisely under the aegis of the common. This permanent interaction between the environment and life defines the contours of new political institutionality, within which we already exist and continue to practice.

Toni Negri (*1933 in Padua / Italy) is a political scientist and leading representative of the “workerist” (Operaismo) reading of Marxism. He was a professor of Philosophy of Law at the Institute of Political Science of the University of Padua. In the 1960s and 1970s, he was one of the leaders of the Italian social and political opposition movement. Negri’s work focuses on political philosophy and globalization issues. Together with the American philosopher Michael Hardt, he authored the books
Empire (Cambridge/Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2000), Multitude: War and Democracy in the Age of Empire (New York: The Penguin Press, 2004), Commonwealth (Cambridge/Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2009), and Assembly (New York: Oxford University Press, 2017). His most recent book is Marx in Movement: Operaismo in Context (Cambridge; Medford: Polity Press, 2021).

Freitag, 22. Juli 2022, 17 Uhr
Singolarità, moltitudini: per una politica partecipata del comune (Singularities, multitudes: for a participatory politics of the common)

Online-Vortrag von Toni Negri (Philosoph und Politikwissenschaftler, Paris)
In italienischer Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln

Der Begriff der „Gemeinschaft“ oder der „Allmende“ (common) wird immer wieder verwendet, um das nicht-proprietäre System der natürlichen Ressourcen, den Zustand der sozialen Kooperation, die menschliche Fähigkeit zur Zusammenarbeit und die Art und Weise zu charakterisieren, in der es einzelnen Subjekten gelegentlich gelingt, eine neue Subjektivität zu erfinden: zusammengesetzt, multitudinal, kohärent und in der Lage, sich selbst mit beispiellosen neuen Institutionen auszustatten. Der große mesopolitische Kontext dieser neuen allgemeinen Ökonomie – welche Singularitäten, multitudinale Zusammensetzung und Produktion des Gemeinsamen miteinander verbindet – gründet auf der Idee, dass heutige Politik die Umwelt nicht ignorieren kann. Umwelt wird dabei nicht einfach als ein Raum verstanden, der von einer sich immer weiter ausbreitenden Biopolitik erobert wird, sondern im Gegenteil als ein Bereich des möglichen Widerstands, als eine lebendige Umwelt, eine Raum-Zeit, der Existenzen eingeschrieben sind und der Praktiken und Experimente gerade unter der Ägide der Gemeinschaft gegeben sind. Diese ständige Interaktion zwischen Umwelt und Leben definiert die Konturen einer neuen politischen Institutionalität, innerhalb derer wir bereits existieren und weiterhin praktizieren.

Toni Negri (*1933 in Padua / Italien) ist Politikwissenschaftler und ein zentraler Vertreter der operaistischen Lesart des Marxismus. Er war Professor für Rechtsphilosophie am Institut für Politikwissenschaften der Università degli studi di Padova. In den 1960er und 1970er Jahren zählte er zu den Hauptakteuren der sozialen und politischen Proteste in Italien. In seinem Werk beschäftigt sich Negri sowohl mit Studien zur politischen Philosophie als auch mit der Analyse der Globalisierung. Zusammen mit dem amerikanischen Philosophen Michael Hardt verfasste er die Bände
Empire (Cambridge/Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2000), Multitude. War and Democracy in the Age of Empire (New York: The Penguin Press, 2004), Commonwealth (Cambridge/Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2009) und Assembly (New York: Oxford University Press, 2017). Zuletzt erschien seine Publikation Marx in Movement. Operaismo in Context (Cambridge; Medford: Polity Press, 2021).