Thursday, November 21, 2019, 7 pm
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: BELANCIEGE

Online video presentation
Lecture by Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze, Hito Steyerl, and Miloš Trakilović


For her exhibition at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Hito Steyerl, together with the artists Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze and Miloš Trakilović, developed a lecture that continues the artist’s exploration of the conditions of capitalist production, consumer culture, and mechanisms of commodification.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: BELANCIEGE
places the luxury brand Balenciaga at the center of a reflection on political and cultural changes in Europe, 30 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall – a time when neoliberalism and populism go hand in hand. On November 21, the lecture was presented online on the n.b.k. website; afterwards it can be seen as a 3-channel video installation, which has been specially designed for this exhibition.

Music and sound directed by Mikk Madisson.

In English


Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze
was born in 1983 in Kutaissi / Georgia and lives and works in Berlin. He studied fine arts at the State Academy of Arts in Tbilisi (2001–2007) and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in The Hague (2008–2010), as well as experimental film and video with Hito Steyerl at the University of the Arts in Berlin (2012–2016). In his works, Gagoshidze considers issues such as the moving image, the political background of its production and distribution, and its socio-political significance. Group exhibitions (selection): Steirischer Herbst, Graz (2019); Kai 10 | Arthena Foundation, Düsseldorf (2018); Harun Farocki Institute, Berlin (2017); Artists Unlimited, Bielefeld (2016); Acud Macht Neu, Berlin (2015); Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Leipzig (2015); Museum of Photography, Berlin (2015); Folkwang Museum, Essen (2014); F/Stop – Festival for Photography, Leipzig (2012); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2012).

Hito Steyerl was born in Munich in 1966 and lives and works in Berlin. She studied documentary film and theory at the Academy of Visual Arts in Tokyo (1987–1990) and at the Academy for Television and Film in Munich (1992–1998), and received her doctorate in philosophy from the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna (2003). Since 2011 she has been a professor at the Berlin University of the Arts. In her artistic works and theoretical writings, Steyerl reflects on our world in times of hypercapitalism, digital lifestyle, globalization, and increasing political crises. Solo exhibitions (selection): Kunstmuseum Basel (2018); The Institute for Contemporary Art, Boston (2017); Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2016); Tensta Konsthall, Stockholm (2015); Artists Space, New York (2015); Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid (2015). Group exhibitions (selection): 58th Venice Biennale (2019); Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017); 32nd São Paulo Biennale (2016); Gwangju Biennale (2016); Whitechapel Gallery, London (2016); Kunsthalle Wien (2015; 2014); ZKM, Karlsruhe (2015); Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich (2015); 56th Venice Biennale (2015); Museum of Modern Art, New York (2014). Steyerl also took part in Documenta 12 (2007).

Miloš Trakilović was born in 1989 in Tuzla / Bosnia and Herzegovina. He lives and works in Berlin and Rotterdam. He studied fine arts at Willem de Kooning Academy in Rotterdam (2009–2012) and experimental film and video with Hito Steyerl at the University of the Arts in Berlin (2012–2016). His artistic practice revolves around the politics of perception and is often influenced by his biography. Using experiences of war as a basis, he explores questions of dissolution, fragmentation, and memory. Group exhibitions (selection): Danube Dialogues, Novi Sad / Serbia (2019); Harun Farocki Institute, Berlin (2017); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2017); Kunstverein Rosa Luxemburg Platz, Berlin (2016); Acud Macht Neu, Berlin (2015); Österängens Konsthall, Jönköping / Sweden (2015); Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig (2015); Museum for Photography, Berlin (2014); Folkwang Museum, Essen (2014).

Donnerstag, 21. November 2019, 19 Uhr
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: BELANCIEGE

Online-Videopräsentation
Lecture von Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze, Hito Steyerl und Miloš Trakilović


Für ihre Ausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) entwickelte Hito Steyerl zusammen mit den Künstlern Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze und Miloš Trakilović eine neue Lecture, die die Auseinandersetzung der Künstlerin mit kapitalistischen Produktionsverhältnissen, Konsumkultur und Kommodifizierungsmechanismen fortführt.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: BELANCIEGE
stellt die Luxusmarke Balenciaga ins Zentrum einer Reflektion der politischen und kulturellen Veränderungen in Europa 30 Jahre nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer – einer Zeit, in der Neoliberalismus und Populismus sich gegenseitig bedingen. Die Lecture wurde am 21. November online auf der Website des n.b.k. präsentiert und ist als 3-Kanal-Videoarbeit in einer eigens konzipierten Installation in der Ausstellung zu sehen.

Musik und Sound unter der Regie von Mikk Madisson.

In englischer Sprache


Giorgi Gago Gagoshidze
wurde 1983 in Kutaissi / Georgien geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er studierte Bildende Kunst an der Staatlichen Akademie der Künste in Tbilisi (2001–2007) und der Königlichen Akademie der bildenden Künste in Den Haag (2008–2010) sowie Experimentalfilm und Video bei Hito Steyerl an der Universität der Künste Berlin (2012–2016). Gagoshidze setzt sich in seinen Werken mit dem bewegten Bild, den politischen Hintergründen seiner Herstellung und Verbreitung sowie seiner gesellschaftspolitischen Bedeutung auseinander. Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): steirischer herbst, Graz (2019); Kai 10 | Arthena Foundation, Düsseldorf (2018); Harun Farocki Institut, Berlin (2017); Artists Unlimited, Bielefeld (2016); Acud Macht Neu, Berlin (2015); Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Leipzig (2015); Museum für Fotografie, Berlin (2015); Folkwang Museum, Essen (2014); f/stop – Festival für Fotografie, Leipzig (2012); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2012).

Hito Steyerl wurde 1966 in München geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte Dokumentarfilm und -theorie an der Academy of Visual Arts in Tokio (1987–1990) sowie an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München (1992–1998) und promovierte in Philosophie an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien (2003). Seit 2011 lehrt sie als Professorin an der Universität der Künste Berlin. In ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten und theoretischen Schriften widmet Steyerl sich der Reflektion unserer Zeit, die von Hyper-Kapitalismus, digitalem Lebenswandel, Globalisierung und zunehmenden politischen Krisen geprägt ist. Einzelausstellungen (Auswahl): Kunstmuseum Basel (2018); The Institute for Contemporary Art, Boston (2017); Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Kopenhagen (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (2016); Tensta Konsthall, Stockholm (2015); Artists Space, New York (2015); Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid (2015). Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): 58. Venedig Biennale (2019); Skulptur Projekte Münster (2017); 32. São Paulo Biennale (2016); Gwangju Biennale (2016); Whitechapel Gallery, London (2016); Kunsthalle Wien (2015; 2014); ZKM, Karlsruhe (2015); Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich (2015); 56. Venedig Biennale (2015); Museum of Modern Art, New York (2014). Zudem nahm Steyerl an der documenta 12 (2007) teil.

Miloš Trakilović wurde 1989 in Tuzla / Bosnien und Herzegowina geboren, er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Rotterdam. Er studierte Bildende Kunst an der Willem de Kooning Academy Rotterdam (2009–2012) sowie Experimentalfilm und Video bei Hito Steyerl an der Universität der Künste Berlin (2012–2016). Seine künstlerische Praxis dreht sich um Politiken der Wahrnehmung und ist oft geprägt von seiner Biografie. Auf Basis von Kriegserfahrungen erforscht er Fragen der Auflösung, Fragmentierung und Erinnerung. Gruppenausstellungen (Auswahl): Danube Dialogues, Novi Sad / Serbien (2019); Harun Farocki Institut, Berlin (2017); Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin (2017); Kunstverein Rosa Luxemburg Platz, Berlin (2016); Acud Macht Neu, Berlin (2015); Österängens Konsthall, Jönköping / Schweden (2015); Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig (2015); Museum für Fotografie, Berlin (2014); Folkwang Museum, Essen (2014).