Thursday, November 28, 2019, 7 pm
Bild und Repräsentation im Werk von Hito Steyerl (Image and Representation in the Work of Hito Steyerl)

Panel discussion with Nora M. Alter (professor of film and media arts, Temple University, Philadelphia) and Klaus Theweleit (cultural theorist, Freiburg), moderated by Doreen Mende (curator and theorist, Harun Farocki Institute, Berlin/University of Art and Design, Geneva)

In her artistic works and theoretical writings, Steyerl reflects on our world in times of hypercapitalism, digital lifestyle, globalization, and increasing political crises. In her essay films and expansive video installations, Steyerl examines the politics of images, questions the power mechanisms inscribed in them, and sheds light on political conflicts, social change in our technologized society, and the ways in which our world functions. Her works hold a mirror to our digital culture, analyzing the visual culture and image politics of the internet, advertising, and design, as well as the changing status of humans as subjects in the technological age. Steyerl combines her investigation of visual mass culture with reflections on future developments and understands her artistic practice as a space where political action is possible, where hegemonies can be broken up, and where utopias can be formulated as models.

Nora M. Alter, Klaus Theweleit, and Doreen Mende will speak about the work of Hito Steyerl on the occasion of her solo exhibition at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Based on the works presented at n.b.k. and their reference to algorithmic image production, consumer culture, and mechanisms of commodification, the discussion will reflect upon contemporary image production and the change in conditions under which it takes place. It will focus on the role of the image as an instrument of control and violence, its operational potential, and its significance with regard to today’s gestures of representation.

In German and English.


Nora M. Alter is a scholar of comparative film and media arts and a professor at the School of Theater, Film and Media Arts at Temple University, Philadelphia. She has published widely on German and European studies, film and media studies, cultural and visual studies, and contemporary art. She is author of several books, including Vietnam Protest Theatre: The Television War on Stage (1996), Sound Matters (2004), Chris Marker (2006), and most recently, The Essay Film After Fact and Fiction (2018).

Klaus Theweleit lives in Freiburg and is a literary scholar, cultural theorist, and writer. Until 2008 he was a professor of art and theory at the State Academy of Fine Arts Karlsruhe. In 1976 he earned his doctorate with the dissertation Freikorpsliteratur: Vom deutschen Nachkrieg 1918–1923, which served as the basis for his two-volume work, Männerphantasien, published in 1977/1978, one of the first comprehensive investigations of masculinity and violence. In November 2019, a new edition of Männerphantasien will be published by Matthes & Seitz, complemented by an extensive epilogue by Theweleit in which he contextualizes the book’s analyses in terms of the current return of fascist positions and challenges to the right to free sexual orientation.

Doreen Mende, a curator, researcher, and theorist, is professor of Curatorial Politics and director of the CCC Research Master and PhD Forum at the Geneva University of Art and Design (HEAD). In 2015, she founded the Harun Farocki Institute in Berlin with Tom Holert and Volker Pantenburg. Her projects include “Hamhŭngs Zwei Waisen (Für Konrad Püschel)” (2018/2019) in the context of bauhaus imaginista in Moscow, Berlin, and Bern; Navigation Beyond Vision (2019) with the Harun Farocki Institute and e-flux journal at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; “The Undutiful Daughter’s Concept of Archival Metabolism” (2018) for e-flux journal; and The Navigation Principle (2017) at the Dutch Art Institute. Her work has also been published, among others, by Sternberg Press and in the Oxford Handbook for Communist Visual Cultures (2019). Mende is the initiator of the research project Decolonizing Socialism, Entangled Internationalism, funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation (2019–2023), and co-founder of the European Forum for Advanced Practices (EFAP), a collaborative research network. She lives in Berlin and works in Geneva.

Donnerstag, 28. November 2019, 19 Uhr
Bild und Repräsentation im Werk von Hito Steyerl

Podiumsdiskussion mit Nora M. Alter (Professorin für Film und Medienkunst, Temple University, Philadelphia) und Klaus Theweleit (Kulturtheoretiker, Freiburg), moderiert von Doreen Mende (Kuratorin und Theoretikerin, Harun Farocki Institut, Berlin / University of Art and Design, Genf)

Hito Steyerl widmet sich in ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten und theoretischen Schriften der Reflektion unserer Zeit, die von Hyper-Kapitalismus, digitalem Lebenswandel, Globalisierung und zunehmenden politischen Krisen geprägt ist. In ihren Essayfilmen und raumgreifenden Videoinstallationen untersucht Steyerl die Politik der Bilder, hinterfragt die ihnen eingeschriebenen Machtmechanismen, beleuchtet politische Konflikte, den gesellschaftlichen Wandel in unserer technologisierten Gesellschaft und die Funktionsweisen unserer Lebenswelt. Ihre Arbeiten halten unserer digitalen Kultur den Spiegel vor, analysieren die Bildpolitiken von Internet, Werbung und Design sowie den sich verändernden Subjektstatus des Menschen im technologischen Zeitalter. Steyerl verbindet die Untersuchung visueller Massenkultur mit einem Nachdenken über künftige Entwicklungen und versteht ihre Kunstpraxis als Möglichkeitsraum politischen Handelns, in dem Hegemonien aufgebrochen und Utopien modellhaft formuliert werden können.

Anlässlich ihrer Einzelausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein sprechen Nora M. Alter, Klaus Theweleit und Doreen Mende über das Werk von Hito Steyerl. Ausgehend von den im n.b.k. präsentierten Werken und ihrer Bezugnahme auf algorithmische Bildproduktion ebenso wie auf Konsumkultur und Kommodifizierungsmechanismen, sollen die veränderten Bedingungen für heutige Bildproduktion reflektiert werden. Im Zentrum stehen dabei sowohl die Rolle des Bildes als Instrument der Kontrolle, der Gewalt oder der operativen Potenz, als auch seine Bedeutung im Hinblick auf heutige Gesten der Repräsentation.

In deutscher und englischer Sprache


Nora M. Alter ist Wissenschaftlerin im Bereich Vergleichende Film- und Medienkunst und arbeitet als Professorin an der School of Theatre, Film and Media Arts an der Temple University, Philadelphia. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Publikationen in den Gebieten Germanistik, Europastudien, Film- und Medienwissenschaft, Kultur- und Bildwissenschaft sowie Gegenwartskunst. Zu ihren diversen Veröffentlichungen gehören unter anderem Vietnam Protest Theatre: The Television War on Stage (1996), Sound Matters (2004), Chris Marker (2006) und zuletzt The Essay Film after Fact and Fiction (2018).

Klaus Theweleit lebt in Freiburg und arbeitet als Literaturwissenschaftler, Kulturtheoretiker und Schriftsteller. Bis 2008 war er Professor für Kunst und Theorie an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe. 1976 promovierte er mit der Dissertationsschrift Freikorpsliteratur: Vom deutschen Nachkrieg 1918−1923, die als Grundlage für sein 1977/1978 erschienenes zweibändiges Werk Männerphantasien diente, eine der ersten umfangreichen Untersuchungen im Bereich der Männlichkeits- und Gewaltforschung. Im November 2019 erscheint Männerphantasien in einer Neuauflage bei Matthes & Seitz, ergänzt um ein umfangreiches Nachwort Theweleits, das die Analysen des Buches angesichts der Rückkehr faschistoider Positionen und der Ablehnung freier Sexualitäten aktuell einordnet.

Doreen Mende, Kuratorin, Forscherin und Theoretikerin, ist Professorin für Curatorial Politics und Leiterin des CCC Research Master und PhD-Forums an der Haute école d'art et de design, Genf. 2015 gründete sie mit Tom Holert und Volker Pantenburg das Harun Farocki Institut in Berlin. Zu ihren Projekten gehören: „Hamhŭngs Zwei Waisen (Für Konrad Püschel)“ (2018/2019) im Kontext von bauhaus imaginista in Moskau, Berlin und Bern; Navigation Beyond Vision (2019) mit dem Harun Farocki Institut und e-flux journal im Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin; „The Undutiful Daughter’s Concept of Archival Metabolism“ (2018) für e-flux journalThe Navigation Principle (2017) im Dutch Art Institute. Darüber hinaus veröffentlichte sie u. a. bei Sternberg Press und im Oxford Handbook for Communist Visual Cultures (2019). Mende ist Initiatorin des Forschungsprojektes Decolonizing Socialism. Entangled Internationalism, gefördert von der Swiss National Science Foundation (2019–2023), und Mitbegründerin des kollaborativen Recherchenetzwerks European Forum for Advanced Practices (EFAP). Sie lebt in Berlin und arbeitet in Genf.