Thursday, April 25, 2019, 7 pm
Borrowed Faces: A Prologue

Lecture-Performance by Fehras Publishing Practices (artist collective, Berlin)

With their lecture performance Borrowed Faces: A Prologue, the artist collective Fehras Publishing Practices presents three fictional characters who take us on a journey into the 1960s. The Cold War era was among the most fertile and critical periods in the cultural history of the Eastern Mediterranean region and North Africa. Politics became deeply entangled and intertwined with culture and at the center of cultural change were writers, poets, and translators, many of whom established collectives and initiatives, publications, and publishing houses.

In an exemplary way, the characters drawn by Fehras Publishing Practices travel through an international network of academic and cultural institutions and move between opposing political affiliations. Their testimonials point to the role of international cultural foundations, organizations with dubious funding sources, and global institutions that strategically support local publishers. The depicted experiences are located between historical facts and fiction, between the artists' own biographies and the information they collected from archives, publications, letters, memoirs, and photos of protagonists and institutions from the Cold War era, as well as between cultural practices then and now. Fehras Publishing Practices are questioning autonomy and independence in the midst of rival forces pushing for cultural hegemony while reflecting on their own collective work as a political practice.


Fehras Publishing Practices was founded in Berlin in 2015 by Kenan Darwich (b. Damascus, 1981), Omar Nicolas (b. Homs, 1987), and Sami Rustom (b. Aleppo, 1988). The artist group is concerned with processes of publishing as instruments of creation, transmission, and observation of cultural knowledge. The three were artists-in-residence at Villa Romana, Florence (2017), Ashkal Alwan, Beirut (2018), and elsewhere. Selected recent exhibitions: KMK, San Sebastián (2019); Sharjah Art Foundation (solo, 2018); EMST, Athens (2018); Kampnagel, Hamburg (solo, 2017); Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf (2017); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2017); SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin (2017); Sharjah Biennial (2017); Kunsthal Aarhus (2016); SALT Galata, Istanbul (2016).


In German with Arabic and English interventions
Free admission

Donnerstag, 25. April 2019, 19 Uhr
Borrowed Faces: A Prologue

Lecture-Performance von Fehras Publishing Practices (Künstlerkollektiv, Berlin)

In der Lecture-Performance Borrowed Faces: A Prologue präsentiert das Künstlerkollektiv Fehras Publishing Practices drei fiktive Figuren, die uns auf eine Reise in die 1960er Jahre mitnehmen. Die Zeit des Kalten Krieges gehörte zu den fruchtbarsten und wichtigsten Perioden in der Kulturgeschichte des östlichen Mittelmeerraums sowie Nordafrikas. Kultur und Politik waren aufs Engste miteinander verwoben. Im Zentrum des kulturellen Wandels standen Schriftsteller*innen, Dichter*innen und Übersetzer*innen, von denen viele Kollektive und Initiativen, Magazine und Verlage gründeten.

Exemplarisch reisen die von Fehras Publishing Practices gezeichneten Charaktere durch ein internationales Netzwerk von akademischen und kulturellen Institutionen und bewegen sich zwischen entgegengesetzten politischen Zugehörigkeiten. Ihre Erfahrungsberichte verweisen auf die Rolle von internationalen Kulturstiftungen, von Organisationen mit dubiosen Finanzierungsquellen und von globalen Institutionen, die lokale Verlage strategisch unterstützten. Die geschilderten Erlebnisse sind angesiedelt zwischen historischen Fakten und Fiktion, zwischen den eigenen Biografien der Künstler und den von ihnen gesammelten Informationen aus Archiven, Publikationen, Briefen, Memoiren und Fotos von Protagonist*innen und Institutionen aus der Zeit des Kalten Krieges, sowie zwischen kulturellen Praktiken damals und heute. Fehras Publishing Practices fragt danach, wie es um Autonomie und Unabhängigkeit inmitten rivalisierender, auf kulturelle Hegemonie drängender Kräfte steht und reflektiert zugleich die eigene kollektive Arbeit als politische Praxis.


Fehras Publishing Practices wurde 2015 von Kenan Darwich (*1981 in Damaskus), Omar Nicolas (*1987 in Homs) und Sami Rustom (*1988 in Aleppo) in Berlin gegründet. Die Künstlergruppe beschäftigt sich mit Prozessen des Veröffentlichens als Instrumente der Erzeugung, Übertragung und Beobachtung von kulturellem Wissen. Sie erhielt u. a. Residenzstipendien der Villa Romana, Florenz (2017) sowie von Ashkal Alwan, Beirut (2018). Ihre Arbeiten waren zuletzt u. a. zu sehen: KMK, San Sebastián (2019); Sharjah Art Foundation (Solo, 2018); EMST, Athens (2018); Kampnagel, Hamburg (Solo, 2017); Kunstverein für die Rheinlande und Westfalen, Düsseldorf (2017); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2017); SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin (2017); Sharjah Biennale (2017); Kunsthal Aarhus (2016); SALT Galata, Istanbul (2016).


In deutscher Sprache mit arabischen und englischen Interventionen
Eintritt frei