Tuesday, March 8, 2022, 9 am
The Epic of Frauenbank Berlin

Narrated by Gilla Dölle (political scientist, co-founder of the Archive of the German Women’s Movement, Kassel) – Online Program
In German

The Berliner Frauenbank [Berlin Women’s Bank] was one of the first credit institutions in the world run exclusively by and for women. Even before women in Germany gained the right to vote and attend the stock exchange, the cooperative bank promoted the financial empowerment of women in various ways from 1910 to 1916. In addition to regular banking services, Frauenbank employees offered free legal and credit advice, organized lectures and cultural events, and for a time produced the magazine Frauenkapital – Eine werdende Macht [Women’s Capital: An Emerging Power], published by the bank’s own publishing house. Despite the bank’s brief existence, its history is emblematic of forms of economic exchange based on solidarity.

Political scientist Gilla Dölle relates the ambitions, conflicts, and challenges that accompanied the pilot project. Dölle has been researching the financial background of the German women’s movements for several decades and dedicated her publications, lectures, and initiatives to remove the taboo from the topic of women and money. Irena Haiduk’s collaboration with Dölle builds on the artist’s efforts to rethink economic contexts and anchor them in collective memory using the strategies of oral history.


Gilla Dölle (*1955 in Kassel) studied social sciences and religious studies with a teaching certification at Gesamthochschule Kassel. She has initiated various women’s and cultural projects, including co-founding the Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung in Kassel [Archive of the German Women’s Movement in Kassel] in 1983, where she worked as a researcher and managing director until 2021. Her research and texts on the history of women’s movements in Germany have focused on funding strategies, women’s participation in politics, and Frauenbank Berlin [Women’s Bank]. In 1997, her doctoral dissertation was published under the title
Die (un)heimliche Macht des Geldes: Finanzierungsstrategien der bürgerlichen Frauenbewegung in Deutschland zwischen 1865 und 1933 [The (un)settling power of money: financing strategies of the bourgeois women’s movment in Germany between 1865 and 1933] (Siegener Frauenforschungsreihe, vol. 2, Frankfurt/Main: dipa).

Dienstag, 8. März 2022, 09 Uhr
Das Epos der Berliner Frauenbank

Erzählt von Gilla Dölle (Politologin, Mitbegründerin Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung, Kassel) – Onlineprogramm

Die Berliner Frauenbank war eine der ersten Kreditinstitutionen weltweit, die ausschließlich von und für Frauen betrieben wurde. Noch bevor Frauen in Deutschland das Wahlrecht erteilt wurde oder ihnen der Börsenbesuch erlaubt war, förderte die Genossenschaftsbank von 1910 bis 1916 die finanzielle Ermächtigung von Frauen mit unterschiedlichen Mitteln. Neben dem regulären Bankgeschäft boten die Mitarbeiter*innen der Frauenbank eine kostenlose Rechts- und Kreditberatung an, organisierten Vorträge und Kulturveranstaltungen und brachten zeitweilig die Zeitschrift Frauenkapital – Eine werdende Macht heraus, die im bankeigenen Verlag erschien. Trotz der Kurzlebigkeit der Kreditinstitution steht ihre Geschichte emblematisch für mögliche solidarische Formen des wirtschaftlichen Austauschs.

Die Politologin Gilla Dölle erzählt von den Ambitionen, Konflikten und Herausforderungen, welche das Pilotprojekt begleiteten. Dölle forscht seit mehreren Jahrzehnten zu den finanziellen Hintergründen der deutschen Frauenrechtsbewegungen und widmet sich in ihren Publikationen, Vorträgen und Initiativen der Enttabuisierung des Themas Frauen und Geld. Die Zusammenarbeit von Irena Haiduk mit Gilla Dölle knüpft an das Bestreben der Künstlerin an, ökonomische Zusammenhänge neu zu denken und mit den Strategien der Oral History im kollektiven Gedächtnis zu verankern.




Gilla Dölle (*1955 in Kassel) studierte Gesellschafts- und Religionswissenschaften an der Gesamthochschule Kassel. Sie ist Initiatorin verschiedener Frauen- und Kulturprojekte, u. a. war sie 1983 Mitbegründerin des Archivs der deutschen Frauenbewegung in Kassel, wo sie bis 2021 als wissenschaftliche und geschäftsführende Mitarbeiterin tätig war. Sie forscht und publiziert zur Geschichte der Frauenbewegungen in Deutschland mit einem Fokus auf Finanzierungsstrategien, der politischen Partizipation von Frauen sowie zur Berliner Frauenbank. 1997 wurde ihre Promotion unter dem Titel
Die (un)heimliche Macht des Geldes: Finanzierungsstrategien der bürgerlichen Frauenbewegung in Deutschland zwischen 1865 und 1933 (Siegener Frauenforschungsreihe, Bd. 2, Frankfurt/Main: dipa) publiziert.