Thursday, July 16, 2020, 7 pm
Artist Talk with Natascha Sadr Haghighian

Video documentation online until August 31, 2020

Artist talk on the occasion of the exhibition passing one loop into another
with Natascha Sadr Haghighian and Anna Lena Seiser (Head of the n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In German


Video documentation of the talk held on July 16, 2020.


Natascha Sadr Haghighian develops installations, video and audio works, as well as performative interventions which reveal the infrastructures and conditions of our social order. Taking current and historical events as a point of departure, the artist addresses how our scope of action, structure of the gaze, and ultimately our thinking are formed. She shows the complex interdependencies and the mutual interpenetration of technology, politics, systems of value creation, and the biological, and calls into question our anthropocentric self-understanding.

In 2020 Sadr Haghighian was honored by the State of Berlin with the Hannah Höch Advancement Award for outstanding artistic achievements by mid-career artists. On the occasion of her award, the artist is presenting a series of works in the exhibition 
passing one loop into another in the Showroom of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) in which diverse thematic strands are interwoven in non-human figures. Within the framework of an artist talk, Sadr Haghighian will present her artistic work and talk to curator Anna Lena Seiser (Head of the n.b.k. Video-Forum) about the current exhibition.

Donnerstag, 16. Juli 2020, 19 Uhr
Künstlerinnengespräch mit Natascha Sadr Haghighian

Videoaufzeichnung online bis 31. August 2020

Künstlerinnengespräch anlässlich der Ausstellung passing one loop into another
mit Natascha Sadr Haghighian und Anna Lena Seiser (Leiterin des n.b.k. Video-Forum)
In deutscher Sprache


Aufzeichnung des Gesprächs vom 16. Juli 2020


Natascha Sadr Haghighian entwickelt Installationen, Video- und Audioarbeiten sowie performative Interventionen, die die Infrastrukturen und Bedingtheiten unserer Gesellschaftsordnung offenlegen. Ausgehend von aktuellen wie historischen Ereignissen, widmet sie sich der Frage, wie unsere Handlungsspielräume, Blickstrukturen und letztlich unser Denken formiert sind. Sie zeigt die komplexen Verflechtungen und die gegenseitige Durchdringung von Technologie, Politik, Wertschöpfungssystemen und dem Biologischen auf und stellt ein anthropozentrisches Selbstverständnis infrage.

Sadr Haghighian wird 2020 vom Land Berlin mit dem Hannah-Höch-Förderpreis für herausragende künstlerische Leistungen in der Mitte ihrer Karriere gewürdigt. Anlässlich ihrer Auszeichnung präsentiert die Künstlerin im Showroom des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) die Ausstellung 
passing one loop into another mit einer Reihe von Werken, in denen heterogene thematische Stränge sich in nicht-menschlichen Figuren verknüpfen. Im Rahmen eines Künstler*innengesprächs stellt Sadr Haghighian ihre künstlerische Arbeit vor und spricht mit Kuratorin Anna Lena Seiser (Leiterin n.b.k. Video-Forum) über die aktuelle Ausstellung.