Thursday, June 30, 2022, 5 pm
Art Activism

Online discussion with Marco Baravalle (researcher, curator, activist, Venice), iLiana Fokianaki (curator and author, Athens), and Oliver Ressler (artist, Vienna), moderated by Ameli M. Klein (curator and researcher, Venice and Graz).
In English

On the occasion of Oliver Ressler’s solo exhibition Barricading the Ice Sheets at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.), Marco Baravalle, iLiana Fokianaki, Oliver Ressler and Ameli M. Klein discuss artistic forms of resistance in the face of the climate crisis. Taking Ressler’s methods as an example, the discussion unravels how artists’ involvement in social movements has developed over the past decades, the modus operandi of activism within the realm of art, and how artists become protagonists of protest movements.


Marco Baravalle (*1979 in Venice) is a member of S.a.L.E. Docks, a collective and project space for art, activism, and experimental theater founded in 2007 at a former salt warehouse in Venice. He is a member of the Institute of Radical Imagination (IRI), which aims to define and implement postcapitalist ways of life. From 2018 to 2022, Baravalle was a research associate for the project “INCOMMON. In praise of community: shared creativity in arts and politics in Italy (1959–1979),” sponsored by Università Iuav di Venezia. Baravalle is the author of
L’autunno caldo del curatore: arte, neoliberismo, pandemia [The curator’s hot autumn: art, neoliberalism, pandemic] (Venice: Marsilio, 2021). In 2021, he was a fellow of the Fulbright Visiting Student Researcher Program at CUNY Graduate Center New York.

Ameli M. Klein (*1993 in Eckernförde) is an independent curator and researcher. She is a guest lecturer at the Institute of Contemporary Art at the Graz University of Technology and at the Roaming Academy of the Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem / Netherlands. She has received fellowships from Dartmouth College, Hanover / USA (2016-2017) and Cornell University, Ithaca / USA (2018-19), among others, and was a Fellow of the Engagement Program for International Curators of the Association of Art Museum Curators, New York (2021). In 2021 Klein was invited to the German Study Center in Venice as part of the collaborative project
Anthropocene Campus of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin. Klein is co-founder of the collective Collective Rewilding.

iLiana Fokianaki (*1980 in Thessaloniki) works as a curator, writer, and theorist in Rotterdam and Athens. She studied Fine Arts at Oxford Brookes University and Arts Criticism and Management at City University in London. In 2013, she founded State of Concept Athens, a nonprofit exhibition space. There she curated solo exhibitions by Kader Attia (2021), Sanja Iveković (2019), Laure Prouvost (2016), and Jonas Staal (2016), among others. Her project,
The Bureau of Care (2020–2022), received the European Cultural Foundation Solidarity Grant. Fokianaki has developed lecture series for various institutions, including Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam, and regularly publishes in journals such as e-flux and frieze. She is currently researching her PhD on identity and politics at the Panteion University of Athens, together with Athena Athanasiou.

Donnerstag, 30. Juni 2022, 17 Uhr
Kunstaktivismus

Online-Diskussion mit Marco Baravalle (Forscher, Kurator und Aktivist, Venedig), iLiana Fokianaki (Kuratorin und Autorin, Athen), Oliver Ressler (Künstler, Wien), moderiert von Ameli M. Klein (Kuratorin und Forscherin, Venedig und Graz)
In englischer Sprache

Anlässlich der Einzelausstellung Barricading the Ice Sheets von Oliver Ressler im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) diskutieren Marco Baravalle, iLiana Fokianaki, Oliver Ressler und Ameli M. Klein künstlerische Formen des Widerstands angesichts der Klimakrise. Anhand der Methoden Oliver Resslers wird erörtert, wie sich das Engagement von künstlerischen Praktiken in sozialen Bewegungen in den letzten Jahrzehnten entwickelt hat, wie Aktivismus in der Kunst funktionieren kann und wie Künstler*innen zu Protagonist*innen von Protestbewegungen werden.




Marco Baravalle (*1979 in Venedig) ist Mitglied von S.a.L.E. Docks, einem 2007 gegründeten Kollektiv und Projektraum für Kunst, Aktivismus und Experimentaltheater im ehemaligen Salzspeicher in Venedig. Er ist Mitglied des IRI (Institute of Radical Imagination), welches das Ziel verfolgt, postkapitalistische Lebensformen zu definieren und zu implementieren. Von 2018 bis 2022 war Baravalle wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter des Projekts „INCOMMON. In praise of community: shared creativity in arts and politics in Italy (1959–1979)“, das von der Università Iuav di Venezia getragen wurde. Baravalle ist Autor des Buches
L’autunno caldo del curatore. Arte, neoliberismo, pandemia (Venedig: Marsilio, 2021). 2021 war er Stipendiat des Fulbright Visiting Student Researcher Programs des CUNY Graduate Center New York.

Ameli M. Klein (*1993 in Eckernförde) ist freie Kuratorin und Forscherin. Sie ist Gastdozentin am Institut für Zeitgenössische Kunst der Technischen Universität Graz und an der Roaming Academy des Dutch Art Institute, Arnhem / Niederlande. Sie erhielt u. a. Stipendien des Dartmouth College, Hanover / USA (2016–2017) und der Cornell University, Ithaca / USA (2018–19) und war Fellow des Engagement Program for International Curators der Association of Art Museum Curators, New York (2021). 2021 wurde Klein im Rahmen des Kooperationsprojekts
Anthropocene Campus des Haus der Kulturen der Welt und des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an das Deutsche Studienzentrum in Venedig eingeladen. Klein ist Mitbegründerin des Kollektivs Collective Rewilding.

iLiana Fokianaki (*1980 in Thessaloniki) arbeitet als Kuratorin, Schriftstellerin und Theoretikerin in Rotterdam und Athen. Sie studierte bildende Kunst an der Oxford Brookes University und Arts Criticism and Management an der City University in London. 2013 gründete sie den Non-profit-Ausstellungsort State of Concept Athens. Dort kuratierte sie Einzelausstellungen von u. a. Kader Attia (2021), Sanja Iveković (2019), Laure Prouvost (2016) und Jonas Staal (2016). Ihr Projekt
The Bureau of Care (2020–2022) erhielt das Solidaritätsstipendium der Europäischen Kulturstiftung. Fokianaki hat Vortragsreihen für verschiedene Institutionen entwickelt, u. a. für Het Nieuwe Instituut, Rotterdam, und veröffentlicht regelmäßig in Fachzeitschriften wie e-flux und frieze. Derzeit forscht sie an der Panteion-Universität Athen zusammen mit Athena Athanasiou an ihrer Doktorarbeit über Identität und Politik.