Friday, May 7, 2021, 5 pm
Anika

Songs presented in the n.b.k. online program

Marking the end of the exhibition Step Out of the Strange Light, Anika presents a video produced exclusively for the online program of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Alone in the City follows Anika through the streets of Berlin and comprises unreleased songs that were staged at numerous locations in the city in cooperation with the team of n.b.k.


Anika,
Alone in the City, 2021 © the artist / n.b.k.

Anika a.k.a Annika Henderson (b. 1987 in Woking, UK) is a musician as well as a composer, DJ, poet, photographer, radio host and film-maker. After initially working as a journalist, she made a name for herself in the electronic music scene with her experimental sound collages, confrontational texts and unique live performances. In 2010 she released her debut LP
Anika on the label Invada Records (and later on Stones Throw), which she recorded with Geoff Barrow (instrumentalist of the band Portishead) and Beak> in Bristol. Since, she has collaborated with numerous other musicians, artists and film-makers, among them: Gudrun Gut and Beate Bartel (Malaria!, Liaisons Dangereuses), Shackleton, Michael Rother (Neu!), Dave Clarke, T.Raumschmiere, Tricky, Melanie Jame Wolf, Andreas Reihse, Doireann O’Malley, Rainer Kohlberger, and Philipp Geist. In 2015, Henderson formed the band Exploded View in Mexico City with Hugo Quezada, Martin Thulin, and Amon Melgarejo; they released two LPs and one EP on Sacred Bones. Since 2009, Anika has performed extensively with and without band on renowned stages worldwide, such as All Tomorrows Parties in New Jersey and London (curated by Portishead), the Moog Festival, Mexico City’s Normal Festival, Teheran’s Tadaex, Berghain, Atonal festival, SKIF St. Petersburg or WWWX Tokyo. In her music, Anika interweaves dub, post-punk, and psychedelic elements with drum and bass whilst putting a strong emphasis on the voice. Her newest single Finger Pies (Invada Records/Sacred Bones) was released in late April 2021.

Freitag, 7. Mai 2021, 17 Uhr
Anika

Songs im Online-Programm

Zum Ende der Ausstellung Step Out of the Strange Light präsentiert die Musikerin Anika ein exklusiv für das Online-Programm des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins produziertes Video. Alone in the City begleitet Anika durch die Straßen Berlins und enthält bislang unveröffentlichte Songs, die an zahlreichen Locations in Kooperation mit dem Team des n.b.k. in Szene gesetzt wurden.


Anika,
Alone in the City, 2021 © Anika / n.b.k.

Anika a.k.a Annika Henderson (*1987 in Woking / Großbritannien) ist als Musikerin ebenso wie als Komponistin, DJ, Dichterin, Fotografin, Radiomoderatorin und Filmemacherin tätig. Nachdem sie zunächst als Journalistin arbeitete, machte sie sich mit experimentellen Soundcollagen, provokativen Texten und einzigartigen Live-Performances in der elektronischen Musikszene einen Namen. 2010 veröffentliche sie ihre Debüt-LP
Anika beim Label Invada Records (sowie später bei Stones Throw), die sie mit Geoff Barrow (Instrumentalist der Band Portishead) und Beak> in Bristol aufnahm. Seitdem arbeitete sie mit zahlreichen weiteren Musiker*innen, Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen zusammen, darunter u. a.: Gudrun Gut und Beate Bartel (Malaria!, Liaisons Dangereuses), Shackleton, Michael Rother (Neu!), Dave Clarke, T. Raumschmiere, Tricky, Melanie Jame Wolf, Andreas Reihse, Doireann O'Malley, Rainer Kohlberger und Philipp Geist. In Mexiko-Stadt gründete Henderson 2015 mit Hugo Quezada, Martin Thulin und Amon Melgarejo die Band Exploded View, mit der sie zwei LPs und eine Single beim Label Sacred Bones veröffentlichte. Seit 2009 trat Anika sowohl mit Band als auch solo auf renommierten Bühnen weltweit auf, wie etwa den von Portishead kuratierten All Tomorrows Parties in New Jersey und London, dem Moog Festival, dem Normal Festival in Mexiko-Stadt, der Teherans Tadaex, dem Berghain, Atonal Festival, SKIF St. Petersburg oder WWWX Tokio. In ihrer Musik verwebt Anika Elemente von Dub, Post-Punk und psychedelischer Musik mit Drum and Bass, während ihre Stimme dabei stets das Herzstück ihrer Songs bildet. Ihre jüngste Single Finger Pies (Invada Records / Sacred Bones) erschien Ende April 2021.