Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò
Music score: Soundwalk Collective
March 4 – August 28, 2022
Soft Opening: Friday, March 4, 12pm



Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò, 2022, installation view intersection of Friedrichstraße / Torstraße, in walking distance from Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) © photo: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) / Jens Ziehe



Curator: Lidiya Anastasova

Nan Goldin, one of the most important artists of her generation, has significantly influenced the art of photography with her intimate portraits of her personal life, friends and family. Since the 1980s Goldin documents in a frank and empathic way, friendships, love relationships, physical abuse, AIDS-crisis. She questions societal norms by making different lifestyles, gender identities, and sexualities visible. Her iconic work,
The Ballad of Sexual Dependency, a slideshow originally conceived in 1983, was ground-breaking and shaped a new aesthetic. Goldin’s recent work includes the digital slideshow Memory Lost (2019–2021), which she considers one of her most radical and ambitious works yet. The photographs form an intense narrative, relating the darkest hours of a life dominated by drug addiction, and revealing the complexity of memory. This selection also includes the image The Crowd, Paternò (2004), which the artist specially adapted for the n.b.k. Billboard series. Accompanying it is a sound piece composed by Soundwalk Collective (Stephan Crasneanscki and Simone Merli).

In 2017, Nan Goldin founded P.A.I.N. (Prescription Addiction Intervention Now), an advocacy group that raises awareness about the drug overdose crisis, particularly in the United States. Since 2018, the group has repeatedly staged protests in museums against their funding by the Sackler family, whose company manufactures the opioid OxyContin – its top-selling drug, which is considered a trigger for the opioid overdose crisis in the U.S. Subsequently, several major exhibition venues declined further financial support from the art patron family and have removed their name from their walls, among them the Louvre in Paris and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.


Nan Goldin (b. 1953 in Washington, DC, lives in New York) has been the recipient of many awards including the Centenary Medal, Royal Photographic Society, London (2018); the Hasselblad Award, Gothenburg (2007); and the Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres, France (2006). Her work has been shown recently at: Tate Modern, London (2019); Château de Versailles, France (2018); Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2017); Museum of Modern Art, New York (2016).


Discourse Program
In the summer of 2022, n.b.k. will present a screening of Memory Lost; the date will be announced closer to the time at www.nbk.org.

Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò
Musik: Soundwalk Collective
4. März – 28. August 2022
Soft Opening: Freitag, 4. März, 12 Uhr



Nan Goldin. The Crowd, Paternò, 2022, Installationsansicht Straßenkreuzung Friedrichstraße / Torstraße, in Laufweite des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins (n.b.k.) © Foto: Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (n.b.k.) / Jens Ziehe



Kuratorin: Lidiya Anastasova

Nan Goldin erlangte seit den 1980er Jahren internationale Bekanntheit mit intimen fotografischen Aufnahmen von Personen aus ihrem Lebensumfeld und gilt als eine der derzeit einflussreichsten US-amerikanischen Künstler*innen. Sie dokumentiert unmittelbar und empathisch Freundschaften, Liebesbeziehungen, körperliche Misshandlungen sowie AIDS-Erkrankungen. Stets hinterfragt sie dabei gesellschaftliche Normen, indem sie unterschiedliche Lebensmodelle, Geschlechtsidentitäten und Sexualitäten sichtbar macht. Ihr ikonisches Werk
The Ballad of Sexual Dependency (1983–2008), eine als Dia-Sound-Show konzipierte Installation, gilt als bahnbrechend und prägte eine neue Ästhetik. Zu ihren neueren Arbeiten gehört die digitale Dia-Show Memory Lost (2019–2021), die sie als eines ihrer radikalsten Werke erachtet. Atmosphärisch dicht bilden die Fotografien ein Narrativ über die dunkelsten Stunden eines von der Drogensucht beherrschten Lebens und über die Komplexität menschlicher Erinnerung. Diesem Werk entspringt die Arbeit The Crowd, Paternò (2004), welche die Künstlerin eigens für die Reihe n.b.k. Billboard adaptiert und mit einem Soundstück begleitet hat, das in Kollaboration mit Soundwalk Collective (Stephan Crasneanscki und Simone Merli) entstanden ist.

2017 gründete Nan Goldin die Aktivist*innen-Gruppe P.A.I.N. (Prescription Addiction Intervention Now), die auf die sich insbesondere in den USA ausbreitende Abhängigkeit von Schmerzmitteln aufmerksam macht. Seit 2018 demonstriert die Gruppe wiederholt in Museen gegen das Sponsoring der Familie Sackler, deren Medikamentenkonzern Purdue Pharma das Opioid OxyContin herstellt – ihr umsatz-stärkstes Arzneimittel, das als ein Auslöser der Opioid-Krise in den USA angesehen wird. Infolge der Proteste lehnten mehrere große Ausstellungshäuser weitere finanzielle Förderungen durch die Sackler-Familie ab und entfernten deren Namen aus ihren Räumlichkeiten, darunter der Louvre in Paris und das Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.


Nan Goldin (*1953 in Washington, D.C., lebt in New York) wurde mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen gewürdigt, u. a. mit der Centenary Medal der Royal Photographic Society, London (2018), dem Hasselblad Award (2007) und als Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres Frankreichs (2006). Ihre Werke waren u. a. zu sehen: Tate Modern, London (2019); Château de Versailles, Frankreich (2018); Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin (2017); Museum of Modern Art, New York (2016).


Diskursprogramm

Im Sommer 2022 präsentiert der n.b.k. eine Vorführung von
Memory Lost, der Termin wird zeitnah auf www.nbk.org bekanntgegeben.