Gerwald Rockenschaub. 751C064/045

September 15, 2016 – August 30, 2017






Curator: Kathrin Becker

With Gerwald Rockenschaub’s work
751C064/045, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein continues its series of projects on the urban space, for which contemporary artists are asked to shape the facade of the building on Chausseestraße, using it as a space of intervention. Made of lightfast foils, the new work by the Austrian artist structures the surface of the facade in a color rhythm and can be seen for the period of one year.

Gerwald Rockenschaub (b. 1952 in Linz, living in Berlin), at the beginning of his international career, worked in the field of Neo-Geo painting, which, as a countermovement to Neo-Expressionism, reduced its repertoire to geometric shapes with the aim of separating the work from the individuality of the artist. Consequently, in the late 1980s, Rockenschaub gave up his work with brush and oil paint in order to continue to work with acrylic glass, adhesive foils and industrially produced materials. In this way he creates large-scale works dealing with the history of art and architecture as well as popular culture.

Gerwald Rockenschaub’s works were presented in numerous solo exhibitions, most recently at Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2016), at Secession, Vienna (2012) and Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (2011). In 2008, he presented three large-scale installations at Kunsthalle Bern and was in charge of the first exterior design of Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin. Group exhibitions include Museum der Moderne Salzburg (2015), Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris (2013), Akademie der Künste, Berlin (2012), Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2011), mumok, Vienna (2010), Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warsaw (2010). In 2007, Rockenschaub was represented with several works at documenta 12, in the same year he received the Fred Thieler Prize for Painting. In 1993, together with Andrea Fraser and Christian Philipp Müller he contributed to the Austrian pavilion at the Venice Biennale. His works are, among others, represented in the collections of mumok, Vienna and of the Fonds national d'art contemporain, Paris.

Gerwald Rockenschaub. 751C064/045

15. September 2016 – 30. August 2017






Kuratorin: Kathrin Becker

Mit der Arbeit
751C064/045 von Gerwald Rockenschaub setzt der Neue Berliner Kunstverein seine Projektreihe zum urbanen Raum fort, für die zeitgenössische Künstler*innen eingeladen werden, die Fassade des Gebäudes in der Chausseestraße als Interventionsfläche zu gestalten. Die neue, aus lichtechten Folien bestehende Arbeit des österreichischen Künstlers gliedert die Fassadenflächen in einem farblichen Rhythmus und ist für die Dauer eines Jahres zu sehen.

Gerwald Rockenschaub (*1952 in Linz, lebt in Berlin) arbeitete zu Beginn seiner internationalen Karriere im Feld der Neo-Geo-Malerei, die als Gegenbewegung zum Neo-Expressionismus ihr Repertoire auf geometrische Formen reduzierte, mit dem Ziel, das Werk von der Individualität der Künstler*innenperson zu trennen. Konsequent gab Rockenschaub gegen Ende der 1980er Jahre die Arbeit mit Pinsel und Ölfarbe auf, um künftig mit Acrylglas, Klebefolien und industriell gefertigten Materialien zu arbeiten. So entstehen in Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte sowie Populärkultur großformatige Arbeiten.

Gerwald Rockenschaubs Werke wurden in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen präsentiert, zuletzt u. a. im Kunstmuseum St. Gallen (2016), in der Secession, Wien (2012) und im Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (2011). Im Jahr 2008 präsentierte er drei großformatige Rauminstallationen in der Kunsthalle Bern und übernahm die erste Außengestaltung der temporären Kunsthalle Berlin. Ausstellungsbeteiligungen u. a.: Museum der Moderne Salzburg (2015), Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris (2013), Akademie der Künste, Berlin (2012), Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2011), mumok, Wien (2010), Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warschau (2010). 2007 war Rockenschaub mit mehreren Arbeiten auf der documenta 12 vertreten, im gleichen Jahr erhielt er den Fred-Thieler-Preis für Malerei. 1993 bespielte er mit Andrea Fraser und Christian Philipp Müller den Österreichischen Pavillon der Biennale von Venedig. Seine Arbeiten sind u. a. in den Sammlungen des mumok, Wien, und des Fonds national d’art contemporain, Paris, vertreten.