Halil Altındere.

gallery thumbnail

n.b.k. Exhibitions Vol. 21 – Halil Altındere.

Edited by Marius Babias and Kathrin Becker

264 pages, with color illustrations, soft cover, text in German and English, 19.80 Euro / 15.00 Euro (members), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Cologne 2018, ISBN 978-3-96098-233-3

Halil Altındere belongs to a generation of artists, who substantially took part in Turkey’s cultural awakening in the 1990s. Migration, identity and gender, but also questions about the influence of Western contemporary art trends within Turkey’s contemporary art scene characterize his work—as an artist, curator and publisher.

The monographic publication gives an overview of Halil Altındere’s œuvre and presents his artistic practice across genres with texts by Marius Babias, Kathrin Becker, Marenka Krasomil, Ana Teixeira Pinto and Misal Adnan Yıldız as well as an interview by Hans Ulrich Obrist with Halil Altındere. Furthermore, the publication documents the exhibition
Halil Altındere. Space Refugee (Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, September 15 – November 6, 2016), in which Altındere in the light of European defense against immigrants and at some ironic distance proposed to use the cosmic space as a haven for refugees

The publication can be purchased at local bookshops, via the website of Buchhandlung Walther König, and at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein. Members of Neuer Berliner Kunstverein can buy the book at n.b.k. for the special price of 15.00 Euro.

Halil Altındere


gallery thumbnail


n.b.k. Ausstellungen Band 21 – Halil Altındere.

Herausgegeben von Marius Babias und Kathrin Becker. Mit Texten von Marius Babias, Kathrin Becker und Marenka Krasomil, Beiträgen von Ana Teixeira Pinto und Misal Adnan Yıldız und einem Interview von Hans Ulrich Obrist mit Halil Altındere.

264 Seiten mit farb. Abb., Klappenbroschur, Deutsch/Englisch, 19,80 Euro / 15,00 Euro (Mitglieder), Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2018, ISBN 978-3-96098-233-3


Halil Altındere zählt zu der Generation von Künstler*innen, die den kulturellen Aufbruch der Türkei in den 1990er Jahren maßgeblich mitbestimmten. Migration, Identität und Geschlecht, aber auch Fragen nach dem Einfluss westlicher zeitgenössischer Kunstströmungen auf die aktuelle Kunstszene der Türkei prägen sein Werk – als Künstler, Kurator und Verleger.

Die monografische Publikation gibt einen umfassenden Überblick über das Œuvre Halil Altınderes und stellt seine genreübergreifende Praxis mit Texten von Marius Babias, Kathrin Becker, Marenka Krasomil, Ana Teixeira Pinto und Misal Adnan Yıldız sowie in einem Interview von Hans Ulrich Obrist mit Halil Altındere vor. Die Publikation dokumentiert zudem die Ausstellung
Halil Altındere. Space Refugee (Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 15. September – 6. November 2016), in der Altındere angesichts der Abwehr von Migrant*innen in Europa mit ironischer Distanz den Weltraum als Zufluchtsort für Geflüchtete vorschlug.

Zu beziehen über den Buchhandel, die Website der Buchhandlung Walther König oder im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein. Mitglieder des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins können die Publikation im n.b.k. zum Vorzugspreis von 15,00 Euro erwerben.