Friday, April 20, 2018, 7 pm
Spaces of Possibility in Art (Möglichkeitsräume in der Kunst)

Panel discussion with Nikita Dhawan (professor for Political Theory with a focus on Women‘s and Gender Studies at the University of Innsbruck) and Candice Breitz (artist, professor at the Braunschweig University of Art), moderated by Nuray Demir (artist, curator, lecturer at the Berlin University of the Arts)

Hardly any field is more homogeneously occupied by privileged milieus than the art field. The panel discussion is intended to detect blind spots and to make them visible. How can spaces of possibility in art be thought out in terms of discrimination and translated into artistic practices?

In English language
Admission free

Candice Breitz has been professor at the Braunschweig University of Art since 2007. Her artistic work in the fields of photography and video was, among others, awarded the Prix International d’Art Contemporain of the Fondation Prince Pierre de Monaco (2007) and the B3 BEN Award of the B3 Biennial of the Moving Image (2013). In 2017, Breitz presented her works at the Venice Biennale together with Mohau Modisakeng in the South African Pavilion. Her works have recently been shown in solo exhibitions, including Boston Museum of Fine Arts (2018); KOW Berlin (2017); Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2016); National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (2013); South African National Gallery, Cape Town (2012); Kunsthaus Bregenz (2010); San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2009).

Nuray Demir is a freelance artist and curator, she studied Time-based Media at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg and spent some periods studying at the Marseille-Mediterranean College of Art and Design (ESADMM) and the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. She works in the visual and performative arts, pursuing a research-based and collaborative approach, which informs her works on topics such as intersectional feminism and postcolonial theories. Her projects were shown at, among others, FFT Düsseldorf (2018); Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin (2017); Wiener Festwochen (Vienna Festival) (2017); Sophiensaele, Berlin (2016); Kampnagel, Hamburg (2016; 2015). Furthermore, she disseminates her approaches in teaching, for example at the Berlin University of the Arts.

Nikita Dhawan has been professor of political theory at the University of Innsbruck since 2014, her focus being on women’s and gender studies. In 2006, she received her doctorate in philosophy at the Ruhr University Bochum. From 2008 to 2014, she held a junior professorship for gender and postcolonial studies at the Goethe University Frankfurt, during which she also founded the Frankfurt Research Center for Postcolonial Studies. In 2005, together with María do Mar Castro Varela, she published the volume
Postkoloniale Theorie: Eine kritische Einführung (Postcolonial Theory: A Critical Introduction). Further publications by Dhawan include: Decolonizing Enlightenment: Transnational Justice, Human Rights and Democracy in a Postcolonial World (ed., 2014) and Impossible Speech. On the Politics of Silence and Violence (2007).

Freitag, 20. April 2018, 19 Uhr
Möglichkeitsräume in der Kunst

Podiumsdiskussion mit Nikita Dhawan (Professorin für Politische Theorie mit Schwerpunkt Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung, Universität Innsbruck) und Candice Breitz (Künstlerin, Professorin an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig), moderiert von Nuray Demir (Künstlerin, Kuratorin, Lehrbeauftragte an der Universität der Künste Berlin)

Kaum ein Feld ist homogener von privilegierten Milieus besetzt als das Kunstfeld. In der Podiumsdiskussion sollen blinde Flecken aufgespürt und sichtbar gemacht werden. Wie lassen sich Möglichkeitsräume in der Kunst diskriminierungskritisch denken und in künstlerische Praxen übersetzen?

In englischer Sprache
Eintritt frei

Candice Breitz ist seit 2007 Professorin an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen in den Bereichen Fotografie und Video wurde u. a. mit dem Prix International d’Art Contemporain der Fondation Prince Pierre de Monaco (2007) und dem B3 BEN Hauptpreis der B3 Biennale des bewegten Bildes (2013) ausgezeichnet. 2017 präsentierte Breitz auf der Venedig Biennale zusammen mit Mohau Modisakeng ihre Werke im südafrikanischen Pavillon. Ihre Arbeiten waren in Einzelausstellungen zuletzt u. a. zu sehen: Boston Museum of Fine Arts (2018); KOW Berlin (2017); Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2016); National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (2013); South African National Gallery, Kapstadt (2012); Kunsthaus Bregenz (2010); San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (2009).

Nuray Demir ist freischaffende Künstlerin und Kuratorin, sie studierte Zeitbezogene Medien an der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg und verbrachte Studienaufenthalte an der École supérieure d’art et de design Marseille-Méditerranée und der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Sie ist im Bereich der bildenden und performativen Künste tätig und verfolgt dabei einen forschungsbasierten und kollaborativen Ansatz, mit dem sie u. a. zu intersektionalem Feminismus und postkolonialen Theorien arbeitet. Ihre Projekte waren u. a. zu sehen: FFT Düsseldorf (2018); Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin (2017); Wiener Festwochen (2017); Sophiensaele, Berlin (2016); Kampnagel, Hamburg (2016; 2015). Zudem trägt sie ihre Ansätze in die Lehre, etwa an der Universität der Künste Berlin.

Nikita Dhawan ist seit 2014 Professorin für Politische Theorie mit dem Schwerpunkt Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung an der Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck, 2006 wurde sie im Fach Philosophie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum promoviert. Von 2008 bis 2014 hatte sie eine Juniorprofessur für Gender und postkoloniale Studien an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main inne, in deren Rahmen sie auch das Frankfurt Research Center for Postcolonial Studies gründete. 2005 gab sie zusammen mit María do Mar Castro Varela den Band
Postkoloniale Theorie: Eine kritische Einführung heraus. Darüber hinaus erschienen von Dhawan u. a.: Decolonizing Enlightenment: Transnational Justice, Human Rights and Democracy in a Postcolonial World (Hg., 2014) und Impossible Speech. On the Politics of Silence and Violence (2007).