Ulrike Ottinger
Hannah-Höch-Preis 2011

November 26, 2011 – January 22, 2012



Curator: Marius Babias



Ulrike Ottinger,
Allen Ginsberg, 1966, acrylic on pressboard


By awarding the Hannah-Höch-Preis 2011, offered by the State of Berlin’s Department of Cultural Affairs, the complex work of filmmaker and artist Ulrike Ottinger will be honored. At Neuer Berliner Kunstverein the unknown and previously unseen early oeuvre of Ottinger’s paintings (1963–68) will be shown on the occasion of this ceremony. While in recent years Ulrike Ottinger’s cinematic view is characterized by high ethnographic reflexivity, in her paintings and serigraphs some later icons of her early films are already developed. This yet unknown aspect of her oeuvre, till this day, proves relevant contemporaneity, which is in conflict with the present and past of post-Nazi societies as well as other cultures. In her idiosyncratic early work, inspired by pop art, her interest in the principle of collage/montage and the surreal/absurd already shows in the way it later recurs in the films.

From 1962 to 1968 Ulrike Ottinger was living as an independent artist in Paris and, at the University of Paris-Sorbonne, attended lectures on art history, religious studies and ethnology of Claude Lévi-Strauss, Louis Althusser and Pierre Bourdieu. From the beginning of her artistic career she has also been dedicated to photography, writing screenplays and directing for the theater. Ulrike Ottinger participated with her works, among others, at the 3rd berlin biennale (2004), Documenta11, Kassel (2002) and Venice Biennale (1980). Solo exhibitions and retrospectives took place at e.g. Centre Pompidou, Paris (2010), Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid (2004) und im Museum of Modern Art, New York (2000). In 2010, she was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Book Series “n.b.k. Exhibitions”
On the occasion of the exhibition of Ulrike Ottinger’s early paintings, a publication with an extensive documentation and with texts by Hanne Bergius and Nora M. Alter will be published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walter König, Cologne, 2011, 192 pages with color images and fold-outs.

Program

Thursday, December 1, 2011, 7 pm
Artist talk with Ulrike Ottinger and Marius Babias
In German language

Friday, January 13, 2012, 7 pm
Stations of Cinema
Round table with Stuart Comer (film curator Tate Modern, London), Ulrike Ottinger (film maker, Berlin), Katharina Sykora (prof. for art history, HBK Brunswick), moderated by Ian White (film curator, artist, Berlin)
In English language

Sunday, January 22, 2012, 8 pm
Music-Performance with Yumiko Tanaka (musican, Tokyo) and Yoko Tawada (writer, Berlin)

Ulrike Ottinger
Hannah-Höch-Preis 2011

26. November 2011 – 22. Januar 2012



Kurator: Marius Babias



Ulrike Ottinger, Allen Ginsberg, 1966, Acryl auf Pressspan


Mit der Verleihung des Hannah-Höch-Preises 2011 durch die Kulturverwaltung des Landes Berlin wird das vielschichtige Werk der Filmemacherin und Künstlerin Ulrike Ottinger geehrt. Im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein wird anlässlich dieser Ehrung das unbekannte und bisher nicht gezeigte malerische Frühwerk (1963–68) Ottingers ausgestellt. Zeichnet sich Ulrike Ottingers filmischer Blick in den letzten Jahren durch eine hohe ethnografische Reflexivität aus, sind in der Malerei und den Siebdrucken bereits spätere Bildikonen der frühen Filme angelegt. Diese bisher unbekannte Seite ihres Werkes bestätigt eine bis heute gültige Zeitgenossenschaft, die sich im Widerstreit mit Gegenwart und Geschichte postnazistischer Gesellschaften wie anderer Kulturen befindet. In ihrem eigenwilligen, an Pop-Art angelehnten Frühwerk zeigt sich bereits ihr Interesse für das Prinzip Collage/Montage und das Surreale/Absurde, wie es sich später in den Filmen wiederfindet.

Von 1962 bis 1968 lebte Ulrike Ottinger als freie Künstlerin in Paris und besuchte Vorlesungen an der Universität Paris-Sorbonne über Kunstgeschichte, Religionswissenschaften und Ethnologie bei Claude Lévi-Strauss, Louis Althusser und Pierre Bourdieu. Seit Beginn ihrer künstlerischen Laufbahn widmet sie sich auch der Fotografie, schreibt Drehbücher und inszeniert am Theater. Ulrike Ottinger war mit Arbeiten u. a. an der 3. berlin biennale (2004), der Documenta11, Kassel (2002) und der Biennale Venedig (1980) beteiligt. Einzelausstellungen und Retrospektiven fanden u. a. im Centre Pompidou, Paris(2010); im Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid (2004) und im Museum of Modern Art, New York (2000) statt. 2010 erhielt sie das Verdienstkreuz am Bande der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Buchreihe „n.b.k. Ausstellungen“
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog über Ulrike Ottingers malerisches Werk (1962-68) mit einer umfassenden Dokumentation und mit Texten von Hanne Bergius und Nora M. Alter im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln 2011, 192 Seiten mit zahlreichen farbigen Abbildungen und Ausklappern.

Programm Kunstvermittlung

Donnerstag, 1. Dezember 2011, 19 Uhr
Künstleringespräch
Ulrike Ottinger und Marius Babias

Freitag, 13. Januar 2012, 19 Uhr
Stationenkino
Diskussion mit Stuart Comer (Filmkurator Tate Modern, London), Ulrike Ottinger (Filmemacherin, Berlin), Katharina Sykora (Prof. Kunstgeschichte, HBK Braunschweig), Moderation: Ian White (Filmkurator, Künstler, Berlin)
In englischer Sprache

Sonntag, 22. Januar 2012, 20 Uhr
Musik-Performance
Yumiko Tanaka (Musikerin, Tokio) und Yoko Tawada (Schriftstellerin, Berlin)