The Future Archive

June 3 – July 29, 2012




Exhibition view, Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2012, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Project and contributions by: Maryanne Amacher, Luis Berríos-Negrón, Muriel Cooper, Olafur Eliasson, Florian Hecker, György Kepes, Richard Leacock / Jon Rubin, Amanda Moore, Otto Piene, Micah Silver / Robert The, Aldo Tambellini, Urbonas Studio / Nader Tehrani NADAAA, Markus Weisbeck

Curator: Ute Meta Bauer

In cooperation with MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT), School of Architecture and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge/USA

The exhibition project
The Future Archive picks up on artistic research projects of the 1970s and 1980s from the environment of the Center for Advanced Visual Studies (CAVS), which was founded in 1967 by György Kepes at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge/USA. The groundbreaking artistic approaches of a generation of CAVS Directors such as György Kepes and Otto Piene and CAVS Fellows, influenced by Bauhaus and postwar modernism, were ahead of their time. Even today, these radical ideas and collective projects of the so-called Techno-Social Movement are the starting point for contemporary art production. Along with historical and contemporary documentary material from the environment of the CAVS, the exhibition brings together current artistic and creative works. The Future Archive is an ongoing visionary project and shows how artists, architects, and designers in their interdisciplinary approaches adopt these historical standards and update them with new issues. In 2009 the Center for Advanced Visual Studies and the Visual Arts Program merged to become the MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT) and Ute Meta Bauer served as Founding Director.

Book series “n.b.k. Berlin“
On the occassion of the exhibition, the publication Ute Meta Bauer. Kuratorische Praxis. Interviews und Gespräche (Curatorial Practice. Interviews and Conversations) will be published in German by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walter König, Cologne, 148 pages, with color illustrations.

Program
Tuesday, June 12, 2012, 7 pm
The Future Archive: Archival Practices
Conversation with Prof. Caroline A. Jones (Art History, MIT, Cambridge), Prof. Sven Spieker (History of Art and Architecture, University of California, Santa Barbara), moderated by Sophie Goltz (Curator n.b.k.)
In English language

Tuesday, June 19, 2012, 7 pm
The Future Archive: Environmental Form and Monumentality
conversation with Luis Berríos-Negrón (Architect, Berlin, MIT Alumnus),
Eric Ellingsen (Co-director Institut für Raumexperimente, Berlin)
In English language

Tuesday, June 26, 2012, 7 pm
The Future Archive: Center for Advanced Visual Studies
Conversation with Prof. Bernd Kracke (President, HfG Offenbach, CAVS Alumnus), Prof. Antoni Muntadas (Art and Public Sphere, MIT, Cambridge, CAVS Fellow), moderated by Prof. Ute Meta Bauer (MIT, Cambridge)
In English language

Tuesday, July 3, 2012, 7 pm
The Future Archive: Visible Language Workshop
Exhibtion talk with Prof. Markus Weisbeck (Graphic Design, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
In German language

Tuesday, July 17, 2012, 7 pm
Directions in Kinetic Art in the mid-20th Century
Lecture by Prof. Alexander Alberro (Art History, Barnard College, Columbia University, New York), moderated by Helmut Draxler (Art historian and critic, Berlin)
In English language

Sunday, July 29, 2012
from 5 pm n.b.k. Summer Party with cooking event by Dieter Froelich (Artist, Hanover)
6 pm Exhibition talk with Ute Meta Bauer (Curator
The Future Archive), in German language
8 pm Music-performance by Florian Hecker (Artist, Vienna, ACT Research Affiliate)

The Future Archive

3. Juni – 29. Juli 2012




Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2012, Foto: Jens Ziehe

Projekte und Beiträge von: Maryanne Amacher, Luis Berríos-Negrón, Muriel Cooper, Olafur Eliasson, Florian Hecker, György Kepes, Richard Leacock / Jon Rubin, Amanda Moore, Otto Piene, Micah Silver / Robert The, Aldo Tambellini, Urbonas Studio / Nader Tehrani NADAAA, Markus Weisbeck

Kuratorin: Ute Meta Bauer

In Kooperation mit MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT), School of Architecture and Planning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge/USA

Das Ausstellungsprojekt
The Future Archive greift künstlerische Forschungsprojekte der 1970er und 1980er Jahre aus dem Umfeld des 1967 von György Kepes gegründeten Center for Advanced Visual Studies (CAVS) am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge/USA auf. Die wegweisenden künstlerischen Ansätze einer vom Bauhaus und der Nachkriegsmoderne geprägten Generation von Direktoren des CAVS, wie György Kepes und Otto Piene, sowie der CAVS Fellows waren ihrer Zeit voraus. Noch heute sind diese radikalen Ideen und kollektiven Projekte der sogenannten Techno-Social-Bewegung Ausgangspunkt gegenwärtiger Kunstproduktion. Die Ausstellung versammelt neben historischem und zeitgenössischem Dokumentationsmaterial aus dem Umfeld des CAVS gegenwärtige künstlerische und gestalterische Arbeiten. The Future Archive ist ein fortlaufendes visionäres Projekt und zeigt, wie KünstlerInnen, ArchitektInnen und DesignerInnen in ihren interdisziplinären Ansätzen sich diese historischen Vorgaben zu eigen machen und durch neue Fragestellungen aktualisieren. Das Center for Advanced Visual Studies und das Visual Arts Program wurden 2009 zusammengeführt in das MIT Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT), als dessen Gründungsdirektorin Ute Meta Bauer tätig war.

Buchreihe „n.b.k. Berlin“
Zur Ausstellung erscheint das Buch Ute Meta Bauer. Kuratorische Praxis. Interviews und Gespräche im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, 148 Seiten, mit farbigen Abbildungen.

Programm

Dienstag, 12. Juni 2012, 19 Uhr
The Future Archive: Archival Practices
Gespräch mit Prof. Caroline A. Jones (Kunstgeschichte, MIT, Cambridge), Prof. Sven Spieker (Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte, University of California, Santa Barbara), moderiert von Sophie Goltz (Kuratorin n.b.k.)
In englischer Sprache

Dienstag, 19. Juni 2012, 19 Uhr
The Future Archive: Environmental Form and Monumentality
Gespräch mit Luis Berríos-Negrón (Architekt, Berlin, MIT Alumnus),
Eric Ellingsen (Ko-Direktor, Institut für Raumexperimente, Berlin)
In englischer Sprache

Dienstag, 26. Juni 2012, 19 Uhr
The Future Archive: Center for Advanced Visual Studies
Gespräch mit Prof. Bernd Kracke (Präsident HfG Offenbach, CAVS Alumnus), Prof. Antoni Muntadas (Kunst und Öffentlichkeit, MIT, Cambridge, CAVS Fellow), moderiert von Prof. Ute Meta Bauer (MIT, Cambridge)
In englischer Sprache

Dienstag, 3. Juli 2012, 19 Uhr
The Future Archive: Visible Language
Ausstellungsgespräch mit Prof. Markus Weisbeck (Grafikdesign, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)

Dienstag, 17. Juli 2012, 19 Uhr
Directions in Kinetic Art in the mid-20th Century
Vortrag von Prof. Alexander Alberro (Kunstgeschichte, Barnard College, Columbia University, New York), moderiert von Helmut Draxler (Kunsthistoriker und Kritiker, Berlin)
In englischer Sprache

Sonntag, 29. Juli 2012, 19 Uhr
ab 17 Uhr n.b.k. Sommerfest mit Koch-Veranstaltung von Dieter Froelich (Künstler, Hannover)
18 Uhr Ausstellungsgespräch mit Ute Meta Bauer (Kuratorin The Future Archive)
20 Uhr Musik-Performance von Florian Hecker (Künstler, Wien, ACT Research Affiliate)