Arno Brandlhuber

September 8 – November 4, 2012



Exhibition view Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2012, Photo: Jens Ziehe
The exhibition Archipel is the first solo show of the Berlin-based architect Arno Brandlhuber (b. 1964) at an institution of visual art. Brandlhuber participated in the Venice Architecture Biennale (2012, 2008, 2006, 2004), designed, with Thomas Demand, the German pavilion at the São Paulo Biennale (2004), and presented his designs all over the world; he has also received numerous German and international architecture awards. Brandlhuber has transformed the exhibition space at Neuer Berliner Kunstverein into an insular urban landscape made of concrete (with various additional substances) using elements from previous exhibitions: Karin Sander’s drillings (2011) serve as openings for the pouring concrete and Olafur Elliason’s Forever Lamp (2011) from the exhibition The Future Archive (2012) provides the lighting. The concrete in the exhibition space grows into an abstract urban landscape of Berlin consisting of several linked units that can be entered by the visitor. The mirrored walls amplify the spatial effect of insularity. By reusing and re-inscribing extant elements, a collage of various time-space interventions is created according to the principle of architectural restructuring. In addition, the soundtrack of an advertisement from Philippe Starck’s architecture and design project Yoo Berlin can be heard. Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and Arno Brandlhuber began their collaboration in 2011: in an election campaign poster RGB 165/96/36 CMYK 14/40/80/20 (2011) for the local Berlin elections (available as an n.b.k. Edition), Brandlhuber demanded alternatives from policy makers to construction plans and the linked social order.

The title is taken from Oswald M. Unger’s urban concept
Die Stadt in der Stadt: Berlin—Das Grüne Archipel (The City in the City: Berlin—The Green Archipelago). This study was written by Ungers in 1977 during a summer academy in Berlin, together with Rem Koolhaas, Hans Kollhoff, Peter Riemann, and Arthur Ovaska. Against the backdrop of West Berlin, at the time a shrinking city, the study focused on issues or urban renewal. The plan suggested creating identifiable, condensed islands of urbanity with various temporary uses embedded in a green strip with the required technical infrastructure, making the city into a “green archipelago.” In today’s reunited Berlin, the current redesign of the city can be linked to questions of social policy, but also to questions pertaining to the architecture of the Berlin Republic and international discourses on urban development. The social city possible today as a natural-cultural space can be examined by borrowing from Ungers’ concept of “the city in the city.” As a point of departure, Arno Brandlhuber began with an artistic dystopia created by mixing all the colors of the political spectrum (RGB 165/96/36 CMYK 14/40/80/20) and then with concrete (Archipel). What was conceived in 1977 as condensed urban space today proves to be a process of homogenization that has taken hold of entire parts of the city: from the center of the new Berlin to the marginal areas of the Plattenbau housing estates of what were once the expanding outskirts of East Berlin, which now increasingly house the city’s poor.

Curated by: Marius Babias


Book series “n.b.k. Exhibtions”
A collection of materials and projects created by Arno Brandlhuber will be published by Buchhandlung Walter König, Cologne, in conjunction with the exhibition. The publication is supported by Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn.


Program
Thursday, September 13, 2012, 7 pm
The City in the City–Berlin as Green Archipelago Today
Discussion with Arthur Ovaska (Prof. for Architecture, Cornell University, Ithaca / USA; co-author Die Stadt in der Stadt. Berlin – Das Grüne Stadtarchipel [1977]) and Florian Hertweck (Prof. for Architecture, Ecole d’Architecture de Versailles; architect, Paris; co-author The City in the City–Berlin: A Green Archipelago [2012]), moderated by Arno Brandlhuber (Prof. for Architecture and Urban Research, Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg; architect, Berlin)
In German and English language

Friday, October 12, 2012, 4 pm
Right to the City– Berlin’s Property Politics
City walk with Dr. Franz Schulz (Borough Major Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg), Arno Brandlhuber, Stadtinitiativen Berlin
Limited places, for information and registration: nbk@nbk.org
In German language

Thursday, October 25, 2012, 7 pm
Artist talk with Arno Brandlhuber and Marius Babias (Director n.b.k.),
In German language

Sunday, November 4, 2012, 8 pm
Ornament und Verbrechen
Musik-performance with Ronald Lippok and Robert Lippok (musicians and artists, Berlin)


Admission free


In parallel with the exhibition at the Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Arno Brandlhuber also presents work at gallery KOW from September 8 to October 20, 2012.

Arno Brandlhuber

8. September – 4. November 2012




Ausstellungsansicht Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, 2012, Foto: Jens Ziehe
Die Ausstellung Archipel ist die erste Einzelausstellung des Berliner Architekten Arno Brandlhuber (*1964) in einer Kunstinstitution. Neben Beteiligungen an der Architekturbiennale in Venedig (2012, 2008, 2006, 2004), der Gestaltung des deutschen Pavillons zusammen mit Thomas Demand auf der São Paulo Biennale (2004) und weltweiten Präsentationen seiner Entwürfe erhielt Brandlhuber zahlreiche deutsche und internationale Architekturpreise. Brandlhuber verwandelt die Ausstellungsräume des Neuen Berliner Kunstvereins in eine insulare Stadtlandschaft aus Beton (mit unterschiedlichen Zusatzstoffen) und verwendet dabei Elemente vorgängiger Ausstellungsarchitekturen: Karin Sanders Kernbohrungen (2011) dienen als Öffnungen für die Betonschüttungen und Olafur Elliasons Forever Lamp (2011) aus der Ausstellung The Future Archive (2012) spendet Licht. Durch die Schüttungen im Ausstellungsraum erwächst eine begehbare abstrakte Stadtlandschaft Berlins, bestehend aus imaginär miteinander verbundenen Einheiten. Der räumliche Effekt des Insularen wird durch verspiegelte Wände noch verstärkt. Durch die Umnutzung und Überschreibung vorhandener Elemente entsteht eine Collage aus verschiedenen raumzeitlichen Interventionen nach dem Prinzip der architektonischen Umstrukturierung. Zusätzlich ist die Tonspur eines Werbespots des Architektur- und Designprojekts yoo berlin von Philippe Starck zu hören. Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und Arno Brandlhuber begann bereits 2011. Mit dem Wahlplakat RGB 165/96/36 CMYK 14/40/80/20 (2011) zur Berliner Landtagswahl (als n.b.k. Edition erhältlich) forderte Brandlhuber damals von der Politik Alternativen zu Bauplänen und der damit einhergehenden Ordnung von sozialen Beziehungen.

Der Titel
Archipel ist der Debatte um Oswald M. Ungers’ städtebauliches Konzept Die Stadt in der Stadt. Berlin – Das Grüne Archipel entlehnt. Diese Studie verfasste Ungers 1977 während einer Sommerakademie in Berlin zusammen mit Rem Koolhaas, Hans Kollhoff, Peter Riemann und Arthur Ovaska. Vor dem Hintergrund eines damals schrumpfenden West-Berlins konzentriert sich die Studie auf Fragen des städtischen Umbaus. Geplant waren identifizierbar, verdichtete städtische Inseln, die eingebettet in einen Grünzug mit verschiedenen temporären Nutzungen sowie technischer Infrastruktur Berlin als „Grünes Archipel“ ausprägen sollten. Im vereinigten Berlin von heute lässt sich die aktuelle Umgestaltung der Stadt mit sozialpolitischen Fragen verbinden, aber auch mit Fragen der Architektur der Berliner Republik sowie internationaler Diskurse um urbane Entwicklungen. Was für eine soziale Stadt als Natur-Kultur-Raum ist heute (überhaupt noch) möglich, ließe sich in Anlehnung an Ungers’ Konzeption Die Stadt in der Stadt fragen. Den Anfangspunkt für die Beantwortung dieser Frage setzte Arno Brandlhuber mit einer künstlerischen Dystopie aus politischer Einheitsfarbe (RGB 165/96/36 CMYK 14/40/80/20) und nachfolgend nun mit Beton (Archipel). Was 1977 als verdichteter städtischer Raum gedacht wurde, erweist sich heute als Homogeniserungsprozess ganzer Bezirke: von der Mitte des Neuen Berlin zu den Hartz IV-Randlagen in den ehemaligen Plattenbausiedlungen des damals wachsenden Ost-Berlins.

Kurator: Marius Babias


Buchreihe „n.b.k. Ausstellungen“
Zur Ausstellung erscheint im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln, eine Publikation mit gesammelten Materialien und Projekten von Arno Brandlhuber, gefördert durch die Stiftung Kunstfonds Bonn.


Programm Kunstvermittlung
Donnerstag, 13. September 2012, 19 Uhr
Die Stadt in der Stadt – Berlin: ein grünes Stadtarchipel heute
Diskussion mit Arthur Ovaska (Prof. für Architektur, Cornell University, Ithaca/USA; Ko-Autor
Die Stadt in der Stadt. Berlin – Das Grüne Stadtarchipel [1977]) und Florian Hertweck (Prof. für Architektur, Ecole d’Architecture de Versailles; Architekt, Paris; Ko-Autor Die Stadt in der Stadt – Berlin: ein grünes Stadtarchipel
[2012]), moderiert von Arno Brandlhuber (Prof. Architektur- und Stadtforschung, Akademie der Bildenden
Künste Nürnberg; Architekt, Berlin)

Freitag, 12. Oktober 2012, 16 Uhr
Recht auf Stadt - Zur Liegenschaftspolitik Berlins
Stadtspaziergang mit Dr. Franz Schulz (Bezirksbürgermeister Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg), Arno Brandlhuber, Stadtinitiativen Berlin
Begrenzte TeilnehmerInnenanzahl, Information und Anmeldung unter nbk@nbk.org

Donnerstag, 25. Oktober 2012, 19 Uhr
Künstlergespräch mit Arno Brandlhuber und Marius Babias (Direktor n.b.k.)

Sonntag, 4. November 2012, 20 Uhr
Ornament und Verbrechen
Musik-Performance mit Ronald Lippok und Robert Lippok (Musiker und Künstler, Berlin)


Eintritt frei


Parallel zur Ausstellung im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein stellt Arno Brandlhuber in der Galerie KOW vom 8. September bis 20. Oktober 2012 aus.